We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crab cakes in town”

Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House
Reserve with OpenTable
Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Bellevue Place
Transit: Accessible by elevated train (Chicago/State) and city bus (lines 36, 151)
Livonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes in town”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel all the way from Michigan to have the crab cakes at Hugo's and visit with the best waiter in town, Tony from Detroit. The outdoor seating is great and the whole staff is more than accommodating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    362
    95
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“its ok”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

There was 15k people in Chicago for a conference and I was a party of one. I was seated in a corner and my server could've cared less about because he dealt with a party of 7 party of 4 and party of 6. I asked for recommendation and he couldn't pay attention to me along enough to tell me anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Always great. Upscale dining.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Consistently excellent. Great food - Seafood, Steaks. Generous portions (especially the desserts). Servers wear white butchers costs and are among Chicago's most professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Downside is we had to wait a long time for a table outdoors, but worth it. I found the service friendly and helpful. Frogs legs starter was delicious, and my wife really enjoyed her crabmeat. Main course fish in batter for my wife really good and lots of it. My steak was out of this world Gibsons apparently. Never heard of it,but excellent. Have no hesitation in recommending this place. Food in USA has been variable for us (British), but this was good. Next time in Chicago we shall definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lively but uninventive.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Business dinner made this palatable as prices were high, food was standard, but uninteresting and service was prompt but disconnected.
You'll get what you expect,but if you expect a restaurant to be more than heat to sear a tuna, keep looking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hugo's Frog Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing