We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great”
Review of Le Colonial

Le Colonial
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Colonial is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Oak
Transit: Chicago El & Bus Route 22,36,151,156
Description: Le Colonial Is Celebrating 15 Years In Chicago’s Gold Coast Area On Rush Street. This Noted Up-scale French-vietnamese Restaurant Transports Guests To Another Time And Place, Vividly Recapturing The Beauty, Romance And Spirit Of 1920’s French Colonial Southeast Asia. The Second-floor Main Bar, Lounge, And Terrace Are Adorned With Plush Couches, Woven Rattan Chairs, And Potted Palms. Black And White Photos Of Turn Of The Century Life In Saigon Set The Stage For Your Next Event."le Colonial Is An Escapist's Paradise, A Cleverly Crafted Re-creation Of The Civilized Yet Exotic World Of French Indochina. Here In Its Tony Oak Street Environs, Le Colonial Has One Of The Loveliest Dining Rooms In The City -- And The Second Floor Lounge Is A Sultry, Seductive Cocktail Destination.”
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

At eat here often when visiting Chicago. No one does Vietnamese-French better than these people. Usually very crowed so reservations a good idea. They might let you sit at the upstairs bar if you don't have a reservation but it is tight quarters that way. Broad menu choices, beautiful presentations. Tables and chairs are tight so large people might have issues here. Good prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    271
    101
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing Tastes”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a wonderful dining experience. Each dish was very fresh with a distinguishing taste, making it fun to share a variety of dishes. The atmosphere was warm and romantic. The service was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting Food in Romantic Setting”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a uniquely romantic well-designed restaurant with interesting French/Vietnamese cuisine and decor. We went on a Monday night and the place was packed! Beautifully appointed and lit, this spot offers delicious, if rich, dishes. We enjoyed the shrimp/sugar cane wraps, the scrumptious tiny mussels served in a luscious sauce, and the not to be missed shrimp/vegetable fried rice (sounds prosaic but theirs is divine). My companion also loved his Vietnamese coffee. Staff were efficient. The atmosphere is welcoming, though our waitress was distant and not friendly nor forthcoming about the offerings. Really good wine list and plenty of by the glass choices. I recommend a trip!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic pick for unique variations and tastes”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife picked this restaurant based largely on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed! Must make reservations. Seated at appropriate time. Has a 'urban upscale feel' with patrons situated close together, dress code appreciated (many men in jackets, but no one in t-shirt and jeans). Service was prompt. They checked into pre-preparations on certain dishes to see if any allergy triggers present for my wife and I really appreciated this. We had the ChaoTom-sugar cane fried shrimp with plum sauce for app; this was a unique presentation and the sauce was bursting with complex flavor. The main dishes are large for individual portions, but served family style to encourage sharing. We did the CaHap-chilean sea bass and BoSate-filet sate. Both were excellent and flavored well, however the sea bass had a buttery delicate flavor I have not experienced in a while! Well done! I would recommend this for an upscale evening or special occasion. I have not tried many Michelin starred restaurants in Chicago, but I am uncertain to why LeColonial is not at least on the Bib Gourmand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BougieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favored Restaurant in Chicago”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I absolutely love this restaurant from its staff, the truly enchanting decor, to the tasty drinks and excellent food. This is a place we love to go back to and celebrate or bring out-of-town guests! The French Vietnamese cuisine here is a real treat and something different from all the steakhouses, gastro-pubs, and the usual fare. Even though it is a bit on the pricey side, you can't go wrong with anything from the menu, which is quite extensive. I loved my food at every visit ad so did our friends. And, on certain days, DJ Madrid even spins and delivers a great atmosphere every time!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CitizenoftheWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Le Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing