We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As if it's missing something ”
Review of Reza's Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Reza's Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As if it's missing something ”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

You really won't get what's wrong; it tastes nice but still you get little things that irritates you.

Cons:
I ordered a Lamb Kobedieh with green rice which comes with a soup that you start with. I was ready for a good meal, however, the soup didn't have enough spice! It's almost good you can feel that it needs something more but your taste buds can't decipher it.

The start wasn't good at all. I'm confused already coming to the next dish; yoghurt and cucumber that was warm & missing key spices!

The meat part was good, big sizes (lots of leftovers) and nice tasty rice.

Pros:
I loved the portions in that restaurant but, unfortunately, I go for quality vs. quantity.

I really enjoy Persian food it's one of my favorites but not here though. That said, it's not a place I would go to again.

Helpful?
Thank Abdul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Brunch Middle Eastern Style”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a popular place and rightly so. Great brunch offering a really tasty array of Persian specialties and popular with locals. Great neighborhood, easy to locate. Interesting building.
Great service, but you will love the self serve brunch, the variety of flavors was really good and affords a sampling for the first timer trying something new. Check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Missing ingredients equals mundane”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The service here was quick and friendly, although my waitress lacked knowledge about the menu.

I ordered the vegetarian appetizer sampler. Alas, the kitchen seemed to have been out of many essential ingredients of good Persian food. The kashkeh bodemnjan had no mint. The dolmeh lacked raisins. The string beans had no black olives. The maust khiar had no raisins, walnuts, or mint. The Persian salad lacked lime. (These are all ingredients listed on the menu.) Five dishes - five misses. My one star is for the quick and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very disapointed”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We used to be “regulars” in this restaurant for more than 15 years, but last couple visits were very disappointing. Sunday buffet served shrimps that were rotten, not completely, but at the beginning of being rotten with very specific scent. Last dining visit turned to complete disappointment – I ordered what I used to order for years – shashlik, and left all meet on the plate – it was IMPOSSIBLE to chew and equally impossible to cut with the knife. And this dish used to be perfect – pieces filet mignon that didn’t even required using the knife. But, as I said – used to be. This seems to be a key word for everything in this restaurant – food, service and the atmosphere – all in the past times. Other ordered different dishes, and though they were able to cut and chew their meat (chicken or lamb) they were not happy with the taste. Service was mediocre, atmosphere unpleasant - noisy and dark, way too dark. We most definitely won’t step a foot into this restaurant any more. Sad… It was a good place with good service and good fresh food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbtravel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“taste of middle east”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were invited to have dinner in a group of 9 people. the location is quiet neighbrhood and you could park your car to a near by park or you just give to the valet parking of the Reza.
Service was avarage (our server looked new to the business), the food was delicious and there were many varieties as well the fruits and desserts.
The place was clean and well maintained.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lumamahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing