We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd Go Again In A Heartbeat”
Review of Ditka's Restaurant

Ditka's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ditka's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Between Michigan & Rush
Transit: Red Line - Chicago Avenue
Palmyra, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We'd Go Again In A Heartbeat”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were traveling with a group of 140 and had a family style breakfast in the upstairs dining room. We were so impressed with the food and service the 5 of us made a reservation to go back for dinner. We had a delicious meal, some had steaks, others seafood. Everyone was pleased.with the evening.
You could spend an hour or more just perusing all the sports memorabilia and art work. Only thing that could of made it better was meeting Mike!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    459
    117
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On a hot night in August after a long walk trying to decide what we felt like eating we happened upon Mike Ditka's. It was a little later than normal dinner time (we always eat late)but they seated us even though it was clear they were winding down. there was a table full of men there for dinner after some kind of business so they while they were loud they at least we didn't feel like we were all alone in the restaurant.

The service was attentive. We went old school with the apps-shrimp cocktail and it was fine though the seafood sauce had a tiny dab of horseradish that was so nice that I asked for more to doctor up the seafood sauce to the proper level of piquant. One of us had the pot roast nachos and they were quite good. As for the steaks, all cooked properly - I had the crab cake topped filet but the crab cakes were fishy and soggy and not worth sullying a good steak with so with them scraped off the steak was enjoyed. Everyone else enjoyed their meals - compared to another steakhouse we visited this week this one won hands down. My highlight was actually the cocktail-I don't remember what it was called but it was Gin, lime and cucumber and so refreshing without being too sweet. All in all a decent evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnietheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E BRUNSWICK N.J.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We decided to have our lunch/dinner at Ditka's as recommended by our son-in-law. We went there at around 4 p.m., probably not the optimum time for ambience. It was in between lunch and dinner and upon beginning the entire dining room was empty. The bar area had some patrons.

My wife and I decided to try the Pot Roast Nachos and the Brisket Quesadilla. Both sounded great on paper. Unfortunately it was not the case. First and most important was they arrived border line warm. For any fan of this type of food you know it must be piping hot. They did replace both items with "hot". They were warmer but not piping. A two-fold problem adding to this is they put a cool sauce on top of both appetizers which tends to cool them off. Secondly this sauce was too sweet for our liking.

We also ordered the seafood platter for two. We thought this was pretty tasty and decent value with the exception of the shrimp. Although it was quite a large shrimp it tasted dry and as if previously frozen.

Son-in-law and daughter both had a steak meal and both seemed to enjoy. Maybe Ditka's should just stay with the steaks and leave the Mexican style foods to Frontera or the like.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank O0gierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My sister is a huge Bears fan so dining at Ditka’s was on her must-do list for Chicago. The restaurant is centrally located and once inside you could feel comfortable dress or more casual. It has a charm of dark wood and a great bar that one would expect. My sister enjoyed viewing the sports memorabilia that was displayed throughout the restaurant.

We had made reservations a few weeks earlier and made a point to arrive prior to our reservation to enjoy a cocktail at the bar before dinner. I had requested a nice table and we were pleased when sat in a room off of the bar that holds approximately four tables. The restaurant itself is large and has a variety of dining areas and larger rooms upstairs which were quite noisy in comparison as we wanted a more intimate experience.

Our waiter Kyle was very attentive and helpful with his recommendations. We both opted for Da Chop which was sizable, flavorful and overall delicious. Good wine selection however we did not save room for dessert. Terrific service, food and experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is one of the best steakhouses I have ever been to. We arrived early and did not get seated before our reservation time, no big deal but something to keep in mind next trip.

The oysters, new york strip, and salads were all great. The food was cooked perfectly and we recieved great service! It was great sitting in a booth in the bar area as Da Bears happened to be playing football which added to the great experience. I would definitely recommend going as a short walk off of Michigan Avenue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 68ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ditka's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ditka's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing