We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of character with great food!”
Review of La Scarola

La Scarola
Ranked #103 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Loop
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of character with great food!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a wonderful restaurant with the quintessential Italian atmosphere. The bread, fried zucchini appetizer, risotto with goat cheese, Penne alla Vodka and Vitello di Franco were amazing! Our waiter, Jack, was fun to interact with. We got there via the bus from the Loop - easy and quick. It will be our first pick next time we visit Chicago!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    100
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian Restaurant - Reminded Me of Home!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was hands down some of the best Italian food I've ever had (and my Grandfather is Italian). I got the eggplant parm, and my friends got the chicken parm. We all loved it, and tried our best to finish (but the portions were very large). The restaurant has such a homey, comfortable atmosphere - I actually felt like I was at my grandparents, eating a meal with the family. Pictures cover the walls, including a gorgeous one of Bette Davis. Not important, but a factor which I enjoyed. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristalein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My friend insisted that we eat here after hearing it is the best Italian in Chicago, and it was simply amazing! The authentic lasagna is to die for. We also had grilled chicken in a lemon butter sauce with with fresh spinach that was mouth watering.

The restaurant has a cozy neighborhood atmosphere with many guests who were regulars and greeted by the owner. Service was personable and attentive. A nice touch was when the owner walked us out after dinner and hailed a taxi for us.

Will definitely visit again when in Chicago!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mom2bjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife was very disappointed as, given it's ratings, we expected a lot more. For anyone staying near the Miracle Mile, the restaurant is somewhat out of the way. It's more like a large neighborhood bistro than a fine dining restaurant. It felt like we were eating in a restaurant that was still back in the 50's. It could use some updating. We both ordered the same pasta recommended by the waiter and it was delicious. We normally order veal or seafood with a side of pasta but the menu just didn't do it for us. They brought a basket of bread and it wasn't even warm. We had an ok bottle of wine. I know some people love this place but we will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJohn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only decent”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The food was not great but still not bad at all. We had a three course meal and every plate was a bit tasteless and cost a lot. Good selection of wine and a cool atmosphere!

Helpful?
1 Thank FilipSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scarola also viewed

 

Been to La Scarola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing