We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pancakes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
Ranked #27 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good pancakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The famous apple and cinnamon pancake is HUGE, it is enough for 2. The blueberry pancake was very fluffy and light. Only complaint is that the syrup was very runny.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jothe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    233
    41
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best breakfast in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The multiple times we've had breakfast here we had a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful (you never run out of coffee, for example) and the food was wonderful. The showstoppers were the chocolate chip pancakes and the apple pancakes, but, in all honesty, you can't go wrong with any item on the menu. The portions were more than enough for one person and in a rare occasion you're able to clear your plate. I forgot to mention how specially yummy and fluffly the whipped cream that comes with the pancakes is!

They also provide kids with crayons and sippy cups to avoid messes during the stay.

The only problematic thing is that the place is so good that in many occasions it was full and we couldn't get a table. Be aware of this, especially on weekends and after 9am on weekdays, and be there early!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming place but food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved the quaint atmosphere. It really was like going back in time and we certainly didn't feel like we were in downtown Chicago.
Food and service was ok but nothing spectacular and we probably wouldn't return here. The place I think has its hard core regulars.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kateypieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The line for this place is very long. The ambiance is nice and homey, and there is a large selection of food. The servers are very attentive. We had the cherry kijafa crepes, they were delicious and the portions are just right for two. The prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pancakes galore and much more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you like pancakes this is your place. They do have many other things too, but it seems as though most diners are eating pancakes. My spouse loves the dutch baby of which I can't even figure out what it is but she gets it every time. Crowded, small, noisy and quite often a long line to get in on the weekends. But we keep returning because it's pretty good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing