We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Greektown”

Santorini Restaurant
Ranked #703 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Loop
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best of Greektown”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Santorini's is one of a number of Greek restaurants along Halsted street. Over the years, we have been to most of them, but Santorini's remains our favorite place for family get togethers - when we want to talk and enjoy each others company in a warm but lively setting. The interior is white washed and decorated with copper pots and blue china to resemble a Greek Taverna. There is a large wood burning hearth that is particularly inviting on a chilly evening. It has a casual but proper atmosphere with white linen table cloths and old style waiters who are very attentive. Santorini's specializes in grilled seafood, although they also do grilled meats well. The food is simple and unadorned but fresh and good quality. Last week we started with grilled octopus (slightly charred and a little chewy in a vinegar and oil dressing) - one of our favorites, but they do a wonderful taramasalata that is the best in Greek town (a delicious mix of caviar, mashed potato, garlic, and sour cream) and they always have excellent raw oysters on the half shell. They pour a good drink which facilitates relaxation. My wife had the grilled shrimp kabob and a friend and I split the grilled red snapper with Greek stewed green beans and both were excellent. I also frequently have the grilled swordfish steak. While I do not usually think of the Greeks as making great wine, the Hatzamakalas chardonnay is a favorite of ours which is perfect with seafood. For dessert, we split the Santorini chocolate mouse torte which is always great. We have been coming here for 20 years and we still enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    22
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX, USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like being in Greece!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best Greek food I think I have ever had in the USA! Wonderful choices, fresh fish, terrific olive oil from olives picked on the owners land in Greece. (In fact he was leaving the next week to go to Greece and supervise the picking and production of the oil.) The waitstaff was knowledgeable and so helpful in helping us make choices. The Dolmas were warm and the best ever! The owners son came over and visited with us...such a wonderful warm personality. Wish they would open a restaurant in Austin! Absolutely a must go to place in Chicago!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustinTXUSAJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Atmosphere and service of this restaurant are outstanding. Food authentic and plentiful. Each of our four-peron party agreed that there is great value and taste to the menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Everyone raves about their seafood. It's just okay. for real deal in seafood, go to Golden Bull on Cermak.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoodLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great greek food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The greek neighborhood is packed with restaurants but this one stands out.
Unfortunately the specials are not available every day and you will have to check the menu for those. The BBQ lamb is amazing! We were there on Saturday and came back on Sunday just for the BBQ lamb. Service and attention are first class. The owner is there all the time checking all details on the food, service and quality.
We were there for the marathon and seriously we liked it so much that had lunch and dinner there 3 times. The place is big enough so you dont have to wait to be seated, ambience is nice, cozy and family oriented. Dont miss the octopus and calamari as starters, i would go back just for the BBQ Lamb, my friend had Alexander chicken and that was very good as well. There is a parking garage in front of the restaurant so you can use it or leave it to the valet. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santorini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing