We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Greek Islands Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: West Loop
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here, the restaurant is easy to find and no booking was required. The place was very busy but very efficient. Food was good, salad included in main course price. Delicious Baklava!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxfordians_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    286
    91
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Greek in Chicago”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Walking into this restaurant felt like being in Greece itself. The staff from the host to the busser to the server were at the top of their game and very friendly. Are server recommended a bottle of wine that was only 20 dollars or so and was actually quite delicious. Not only was this the best Greek food I've had in Chicago it was one of the most affordable meals I've had around here in a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jmoney84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“first time in this place @ Greektown”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we went with the whole family to this place for first time, My wife and I have gone to other Greek restaurants in the area, they didn't have my favority Greek beer (mythos) but I was introduced to a new one that I ended up loving it (Hillas) we get to try more dishes, my wife loved her soup and green beans, son and I love calamary, giros was a little too dry but still ok, spinach pay and dolmades where the turn off.. over all the atmosphere and the food would be like a 75% / 80% of a 100 scale...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Greek cuisine and fun time.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Greek Islands is located in Greektown just west of downtown among a cluster of restaurants. This place has been in operation for over 40 years and is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner. It has multiple, nicely decorated dining rooms. The menu is almost overwhelmingly large and offers many traditional Greek dishes in addition to daily specials. My wife and I have patronized this place over the years because we like Greek cuisine, the food is always pretty good, and the prices reasonable.

We recently lunched there with a couple of our friends and started the meal by sharing the grilled octopus. It is made very well here and, as usual, the octopus was tender, flavorful, and not greasy. Next, my wife had the shrimp shishkabob that she enjoyed very much. I had the lamb chops that was one of the daily specials. The dish consisted of four good-sized chops that were tender, tasty, and nicely grilled.

The Greek Islands is a very popular restaurant and usually a fun experience. The atmosphere is very enjoyable and service competent and helpful. Valet parking is “free” but tipping the attendant a few bucks is expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiMike606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights IL
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Greektown”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Greek Islands is a great restaurant with consistently good food and service. It is within walking distance of the Loop but has valet parking for those who drive. They have an extensive menu with the traditional dishes but also have chef's specials that are excellent. They have their own wines from Greece. Whether you are a couple or a larger group, you cannot go wrong eating here. They also can provide gluten-free dishes. One of the best bets for eating after the Opera.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macman1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Islands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greek Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing