We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic and fun”
Review of Longman & Eagle

Longman & Eagle
Ranked #159 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
location, location. location...
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Eclectic and fun”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Ate there just this past weekend evening and what a blast! Great menu, very eclectic and adventuresome. Lamb Tartar, bone marrow, walleye and a bunch of unique appetizers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baked_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    88
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Go for brunch. Dress code: plaid.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I went to Longman & Eagle for brunch with friends on a recent trip to Chicago. When you walk in, it's not immediately clear that this is the kind of place that's going to have good breakfast/brunch. It looks like a neighborhood bar, with basic furnishings and a hip but spare interior. The waitstaff look like they're straight out of central casting for a new sitcom about 20-something friends living in a Williamsburg, Brooklyn loft - plaid shirts, beards, black glasses. That being said, they're incredibly sweet and accommodating.

Everything on the breakfast menu sounded amazing and it was tough to pick just one dish each. As a compromise, we each ordered our own dishes plus french toast for the table. My friends ordered omelets, which looked amazing. I had the Greek yogurt with homemade granola and pear - simple but delicious. The french toast was out of this world. And last, but frankly most important, the coffee was very good.

Overall, I would highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“So good”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First off the food was amazing. We sat outside and the weather was perfect, the street wasn't too busy. This place is not in the tourist district, about a fifteen minute cab ride but not bad. They also have an enormous selection of bourbons if that's your thing (its my husband's). The kids tried several new dishes and I was not disappointed by anything.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“What a blast!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

L&E just has the Pixie dust working. The fine food and 5-star service in a fun, and energetic room, wow. The beverage (particularly whiskey) list is astounding. There are innate design queues around the space that evoke whimsy, relaxation and straight up fun. Suggest the meatball bar snack and the pretzel with Welsh rarebit. Loved the braised rib and duck three-way main dishes.Server Jane, is a gem, so cool.try to get a table on either end of the room if you want to attempt conversation, the center is noisy but way fun. Next time, I would reserve a room upstairs and stay late...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
968 reviews
724 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Varied Brunch Menu”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nice place. Endless beer, whiskey, and cocktail menu. Varied brunch menu with emphasis on wild boar dishes. Noisy ambiance amplified by music in the background. Fantastic sour dough bread toast on request. Some dishes over flavored. Busy. No reservations taken. Just off Logan Square.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longman & Eagle also viewed

 

Been to Longman & Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing