We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chief O'Neill's

Chief O'Neill's
Ranked #594 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great service, great food! What else do you want?! Had the fish and chips but the cheese and Guinness soup was phenomenal. Beer and whisky list was impressive and the wine list impressive. Very cozy atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank petej65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OMG AM I IN HEAVEN?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Had brunch there yesterday, omg it was heaven! I never saw so many of my favorites in one place,I thought I died and went to heaven it was that good!!! The sweets were omg good!!! Plus its so close that I can walk there. Will take my favorite people here for bdays. Soooooo tony the tiger great!!!!!"

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still the BEST Sunday Brunch in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ate here today after about a year hiatus and Chief O'Neill's still has the best brunch. From the great savory items - the omelet station and peel and eat shrimp and great calamari to the fish and chips and incredible french toast, to the sweet desserts - two kinds of chocolate fountains and cookies and brownies - Chief O'Neill's is the place to be for Sunday brunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overwhelmed by Thanksgiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a family Thanksgiving dinner here. Four adults and a 2 year old. Food was great, but service was tortuous. Took 30 minutes to get our soup; 45 minutes for our salad and the entrees arrived over an hour after we ordered. Had a desert buffet table with some nice items, but table was always out of something. Sometimes it was plates or spoons; other times was stawberries and cookies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A place to feel comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place has been around for about 12 years now and never gets the accolades it deserves. The owners pay allot of attention to the atmosphere, menue and entertainment and this is a place to just relax, eat well and have fun. Chief;s is good for the family, just couples late night or for Sunday brunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chief O'Neill's also viewed

 

Been to Chief O'Neill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing