We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food - Extremely noisey Tuesday”
Review of Le Bouchon

Le Bouchon
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bouchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #783 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Chicago, Illinois and Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food - Extremely noisey Tuesday”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Go to this great restaurant for food. Mussels and duck are to die for! Suggest that you pay the extra price and aviod Tuesdays. Tables are very close and conversation is difficult. As in the previous review, we were there on a Tuesday night - early. The dinners were excellent and everyone was very happy with their food. It is always a noisey place, but Tuesday nights seem to be exceptional. In additional all the people coming for the great deal, the music was also cranked up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paperdoll1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good French bistro.”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

On a recent Tuesday night my wife and I dined for the first time at Le Bouchon. We were accompanied by another couple who were repeat patrons. The restaurant is in the mold of an authentic French bistro and is located in trendy Bucktown. The dining room is charming but small with closely spaced tables. When we arrived, the restaurant had only a few guests. Our reservation was for 6:45 p.m., and because we all arrived early, we opted to have some drinks at the bar that only accommodates about six people. The drinks were well made, amply poured, and reasonably priced. We were subsequently called to our table and after being seated the dining room and the bar filled up.

On Tuesdays the restaurant offers a prix fixe menu for which we all opted. Our selections included the French onion soup, the steamed mussels in white wine, and the green salad with lardons (small cubes of bacon) and egg. The soup was outstanding and the mussels were very tasty and fresh, but the salad, although good, could have been better were it not for the lardons being too fatty. For our entrées we all had the sautéed halibut served on a bed of rice with herbs and sliced bell peppers that was one of the specials for that night. The fish was fresh and the entire dish was very well prepared and delicious. Our desserts included the berries with vanilla anglaise, profiteroles, the crème brulée and the chocolate cake with ice cream that were all devoured with great pleasure. Our waiter was efficient and profession but as the restaurant filled up, his attentiveness fell off a bit. Also, because of the tight seating and the small size of the dining area, the noise level was high and hindered conversation. Due to the quality of the food, the reasonable prices, and the charming atmosphere, Le Bouchon is recommended with a four plus rating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiMike606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We walked-in early at Le Bouchon after an afternoon at Wrigley Field and were offered the window table which allowed us to enjoy the hustle & bustle of Bucktown. The soups, vegetarian split pea & the french onion, were outstanding. The lobster mac & cheese was rich with ample chunks of meat.

All in all, a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank resiak1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I like it”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have been here multiple times and the food is always good. The service is nothing special but if you have ever been to France you probably know how bad real French service can be, so maybe they are just trying to keep it authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude, Rude, Rude !!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I ate there in February. We started at the bar and, upon being seated, tipped the bartender. The bar bill was transferred to our table. I tipped 18% on a a $150 bill, minus the bar bill. Our waitress asked if her service was satisfactory. I said that it was, with the exception of cold (room temp.) potatoes. She said that my tip was not up to her expectations, and that we had to leave the table for another party. It was after 10:00 p.m. and no other party in in the restaurant. There are many french bistros in Chicago and Le Bouchon is at the bottom of my list.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenN770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing