We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pitch-perfect French meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Joel

Chez Joel
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Joel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #473 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: University Village / Little Italy
Transit: Racine Blue line..Taylor bus, Number 8 Halsted bus.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pitch-perfect French meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband had been with a group and suggested Chez Joel for our anniversary. The room is lovely and, at least on a Sunday evening, it was quiet enough for real conversation. Much of the conversation at neighboring tables was in French. The service was perfect; the food was solidly delicious. The tarte aux pommes was a triumph. We spent much of the meal thinking which of our friends would enjoy Chez Joel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    30
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wow a genuine romantic french bistro with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A wonderful find on Taylor Street. Very warm environment. Menu had all the classics. I had moules mariniere and duck; my dinnermate French onion soup and coq au vin. The folks next to us started with escargots. Nothing fusion here just very well prepared food with excellent service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day price fixe menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This year was the second year in a row that we went to Chez Joel for Valentine's Day. The restaurant does a lovely price fixe menu for the holiday and decorates the restaurant with tons of red roses and candles - totally romantic. The menu this year was almost the same as last year, which is a very good thing - don't mess with what works!

To start: I had lobster bisque both this year and last year - DIVINE! This year my husband had carpaccio, and last year he had a puff pastry with some kind of seafood sauce - both were delicious. Entree: I had chicken breast stuffed with spinach and goat cheese, and my husband had duck breast and confit. Both entrees were exceptional and beautifully presented. The duck had a lot of flavor, and the chicken breast was very tender (and smothered in goat cheese - how can you go wrong with that?). Last year for an entree, I had scallops in saffron risotto and my husband had filet mignon - both of these were exceptional as well. Out of all four of the entrees we have shared from this restaurant, I think my favorite of them all was the scallops in saffron risotto - it just had so much flavor. For dessert both years we both ordered a chocolate cake with warm chocolate sauce inside (similar to lava cake, but much more refined). Nice wine list, and my husband enjoyed some kind of specialty cocktail.

I just can't say enough good things about this restaurant. The food is SO rich and tasty, I don't know how anyone could possibly walk away unsatisfied. Worth the price for a romantic night out in Chicago's Little Italy. I also want to try the brunch someday, as I've heard multiple people recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Night out with some friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

First time to Chez Joel on a Sunday night. Great service, nice atmosphere and outstanding food. I will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hipster41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not quite French But close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had a party of eight and all of our dishes were very tasty. The lamb chops were outstanding. Steak frites were good as was the halibut (served on a small bed of cabbage and sliced ginger.) escargots were very good topped with breadcrumbs and a splash of Pernod.
Will go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belturbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Joel also viewed

 

Been to Chez Joel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing