We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch option”

Thai Spoon And Sushi
Ranked #859 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Bar, Sushi, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Campobello, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stopped in here to get some lunch. It was close to my hotel and I wanted to get carry out. I checked out the menu outside and saw they had many many choices which is good for me. I like spice in my food just not hot. I am not very experienced with Thai food so I wanted to made sure I had good selections. I chose Edamame as an appetizer, Tom Yum Shrimp,and Pad See Ew. The service was excellent and very quick. The waitress provided me with ice water while I waited for my order. The food was excellent. The flavor was good for everything and not spicy at all. Great for me but I could see where there were selections for anyone who wanted more spice. I intend to eat here at least one more time during my stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyH812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huber Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Decent Thai Option”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stopped in here because it was close to the hotel and one of the few places we found where my vegan Fiancè could eat.

Lots of options on the menu when it comes to Thai food or sushi. I ordered the Pad See Ew and it was a decent dish. Large portion sizes but nothing was extremely special about the dish itself. One bonus I can think of is this place has fountain drinks for soda so you don't just get the can like some Thai restaurants.

Service was ok. Kind of slow but it was a Saturday night and it didn't seem like the waitress had a lot of help. Price was right for what we got and we left full. Would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhotogDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
276 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Could've been better, could've been worse”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped in here because we were staying at the adjoining Travelodge. The prices were very reasonable; I had the daily special which happened to be Pad Thai with a spring roll for $7.99. OK, I'll confess I've never eaten at a Thai restaurant before, but I love the pad thai served at the college where I work. The spring roll was very different than I'm used to: cold and soft, unlike warm and crispy that I get at Chinese restaurants. It was tasty, though. The pad thai (hate to say it) wasn't as good as my college cafeteria. There you can taste noodles, chicken, peanuts, cilantro, carrots, and it's all served on sticky rice--yum! This pad thai was about 90% noodles with some kind of sauce. It was supposed to be served with all the above (except rice), but I couldn't taste any of it except for some chicken now and then. That said, it was pretty good. My husband had the seafood curry, medium spicy. The seafood blended in, so the only seafood he could really taste was the shrimp. He also said that the flavor got sort of monotonous as he ate (it was a big bowl, at least). Neither of us were really in love with this food. The service was on the bad side of average, but not horrible. We (and other diners near us) had to wait to place orders, get refills, get checks, and so on. I couldn't see any need-- the waitresses were right there behind the counter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floridalibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazeballs!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here originally because we saw the "all you can sushi" sign. Once we were inside and started to look at the menus we saw all the wonderful Thai dishes. The food was fantastic! Service was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Pleasant Services - Good Food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I don't know what other reviewers rated this place on, but on the evening I went the two waitresses were more than pleasant and the service and quality of food was very good. The menu selection was excellent and dinner was reasonably priced. Keep in mind that this is NOT a high end Zagat rated restaurant. It is a local Thai - Asian place (almost diner-like) and the food was fresh and tasty, the place relatively clean (I didn't inspect the kitchen!) and a very good value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank STEVENSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Spoon And Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Thai Spoon And Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing