We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Klay Oven - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Klay Oven
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Hubbard
Transit: Brown Line Merchandise Mart
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I came across this little restaurant on the way to the Frank Lloyd Wright House. Simple lunch buffet with a wide variety to choose from, including vegetable, lamb, and chicken. The food was tasty. The rice pudding however lacked some flavor and was lumpy. The service wasn't quite take it or leave it, just reserved. Overall, I liked the place, and if I was in the area with a mood for Indian food, I wouldn't hesitate to eat there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dudebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
turgtusteynam
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Closed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I adore Indian Food. These guys would be right up the street from my hotel. But the locals say they lost their lease and are looking for a new place. So this is just a warning that they simply don't exist right now.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food (Oak Park Location)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I ate at Klay Oven in Oak Park for several meals over the past two years. Klay Oven serves tasty, delicious Indian food. We often go for either the lunch special or lunch buffet. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service is attentive. I would recommend a visit to Klay Oven for savory Indian food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank premile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take the money and run . . .”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have been to the Oak Park location several times. Food was just okay; attitude "take the money and run!" Could have cared less.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LucyRicardoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was a slow night and we were the only people in the restaurant so I felt bad for the staff. I couldn't understand why the place wasn't packed! The food was amazing and the staff were extremely nice. I can't wait to try it again!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing