We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Sayat Nova

Sayat Nova
Reserve with OpenTable
Sayat Nova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #480 of 9,660 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Armenian, Middle Eastern, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Ave.
Transit: Red Line Grand and State Any Michigan Avenue Bus
Description: Located just steps from Michigan Avenue in the heart of Chicago's thriving Streeterville neighborhood, Sayat Nova is a cozy, romantic enclave tucked back from the city's urban sprawl. Since 1970, we have offered Armenian cuisine that presents a slightly earthier variation on typical Mediterranean fare.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow! The kababs-steak, chicken, and lamb-we're all amazing. So was the knafi for desert. Great quiet ambience and great prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Totustuus217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    97
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Romantic nook”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

After seeing Cyrano de Bergerac at the Chicago Shakespeare Theater, we wanted to continue the mood of poetry and romance in a restaurant with both an inner beauty and panache. This quiet place just a couple blocks away from the bustle of Michigan Ave was a perfect fit. The lamb was very tender and moist. The philo pastry was delicate and crunchy. Portions were generous. A shot of Armenian double-roasted coffee was an unexpectedly intense treat. But we really spent most of the time enjoying each other's company because the cozy table set into an semiprivate alcove, warm colors and creative lighting, all combined to provide a romantic setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou_per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Sayat Nova was suggested to me by the concierge of a nearby restaurant when I asked him for a suggestion for a restaurant serving out of the ordinary cuisine.

My wife had the Lamb Cous Cous and I had the Armenian Combo. Both were delicious. Prices were reasonable, and service was very good. We would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Armenian Restaurant downtown Chicago”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Right off Michigan Ave on Ohio, the Trout was outstanding. Also the Kebab combo with Chicken, Beef and Lulla kebabs was delicious. Had the mezza for appetizers choosing hummus, labneh and taboule and it was just right while waiting for the dinner. Also had a Mojito which hit the spot.
Wait staff couldn't have been nicer and speedy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjrvector2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A unique option to North Shore dining”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The humas was wonderful and our main courses of shish and Lulla kabob great. Wonderful value, half the price of the steak house we ate at the previous night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bleen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sayat Nova also viewed

Chicago, IL
Chicago, IL
 

Been to Sayat Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing