We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Lou Mitchell's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: West Loop
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Only in America would you get greeted with a doughnuts and a tiny box of Milk Duds before you have a massive breakfast but hey "when in Rome" The food was hearty fare and the coffee was flowing. The manageress was very helpful giving us good directions

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulsteron2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    269
    63
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Begin Route 66 with a hearty Breakfast”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Started Route66 with a hearty breakfast here at Lou Mitchells. Place was very busy, service wasn't great but good. Breakfast was filling as you would expect in America.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GDczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Breakfast Well Done”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lou Mitchell's seems a local cult favorite, so I tried it for a Sunday morning breakfast. They bake their own breads and pasteries, and sell all manner our souveniers.

The place got busy early, but the service and diner like atmosphere (booths, counter seats, tables) and speedy servers moved things along well. Most of the breakfast items arrive in a skillet, and my eggs and meat were fresh, cooked exactly as ordered, and tasty. The coffee was also quite good. My bacon and egg breakfast with potatoes, toast, and coffee came to a reasonable $12 with tax included.

I'd readily come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere !”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were greeted with a doughnut hole. Everyone in our party had something different. Omelette, pancakes, breakfast sand which. Toast was amazing. The orange marmalade was delish. I love places with personality and this place has it as well as superb food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Chicago staple.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is where our Route 66 trip began. We started our journey off in this icon of Chicago with a most excellent breakfast. The portions were very good and filling. We loved the fresh donut holes they give you when you first come in the door. There is a reason why this place has been here forever. Next time I am in Chicago, Lou Mitchells will be on the agenda.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Mitchell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lou Mitchell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing