We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky diners”
Review of Shanghai Terrace

Shanghai Terrace
Reserve with OpenTable
Shanghai Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Michigan Avenue
Transit: Red Line - Chicago; Michigan Avenue and Chicago Avenue CTA Bus Routes
Description: Recently ranked the number one "Chinese Restaurant in Chicago" by Zagat, the exquisite Asian decor enhances the intimate atmosphere of this venue, which is unique to the city of Chicago. Seating capacity fits 75 guests with additional seating on the Terrace during temperate weather. Also features an intimate Private Dining Room for up to 30 guests. The Shanghai Terrace offers Eastern skyline views over Chicago, serving Chinese cuisine with an emphasis on Cantonese and Shanghainese specialties.
Brighton
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lucky diners”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Much as we enjoyed the food in Chicago, some of it was bit samey, so we decided to try the Shanghai Terrace. The weather wasn't that warm, so as we were led onto the terrace we were wondering whether it was wise. Luckily, we were offered one of only about five tables under a canopy warmed by patio heaters. Judging by the ensuing envious glances from other (chillier) diners, we'd got very lucky indeed. But the food made it even better. There is a gulf between generic Chinese food and the high quality fare served at the Shanghai Terrace. We started with crab cakes and spring rolls. These were perfectly cooked, hot and totally lacking in any greasiness. The flavours were subtle but intense. For mains Mrs LS had beautifully steamed Halibut which was firm, chunky and delicious. I chose Kung Po Chicked. This was just the right side of incendiary, leaving a wonderful chilli afterglow. We skipped desserts as the main courses were accompanied by rice and steamed vegetables leaving us full and very happy. The bill for two with wine and beers was a very reasonable $160. The quality of both the food and the service would cost considerably more in London

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at Shanghai Terrace, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear ChesterLeStreet,

Thank you for visiting Shanghai Terrace and for taking the time to share your gracious review. We thank you for your kind words on the taste and quality of the menu items, as well as the value and ambiance. We wish it were warmer for your visit but we are happy to hear with the heat lamps on, you were still able to dine on The Terrace!

We hope to welcome you again the next time you are in Chicago!

Warm Regards,

Kai Lermen
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    66
    22
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegant oasis”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Consistently welcoming, discreet, attentive service in a lovely setting. Choose the red lacquer and Chinese antiques dining room in cool weather or, our favorite, the calm terrace garden on a warm evening. Thoughtfully prepared and presented variety of tastes and dishes with a range of wines to accompany them. One of our favorites, the original lobster dish, is currently not offered but we hope will be again---one of the best we've had anywhere. On this visit the duck salad, lobster hot and sour soup, sea bass, and Kung pao chicken (a refined version, not the gooey paste of lesser kitchens) were excellent. Wonderful evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at Shanghai Terrace, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Carol B,

Thank you for returning to Shanghai Terrace and for posting your kind review. We appreciate your remarks on the service, décor and menu items. We have also shared your appreciation for the original lobster dish with the Chef for consideration; we are grateful for your feedback. The XO Wok Fried Lobster In Its Shell is now on the dinner menu this season but if there is another particular favorite, we always enjoy to hear comments from our guests!

We hope for your next visit, the weather will cooperate for you to enjoy The Terrace. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kai Lermen
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, fantastic food”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stopped in this place for lunch and was really impressed with the food. Simple but powerful favors. 3 of us ate family style entrees on the outdoor terrace. It was simply beautiful. It is in the peninsula hotel.... This was a bit confusing to find but so worth the search.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catchthefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at Shanghai Terrace, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear catchthefever22,

Thank you for visiting Shanghai Terrace and for posting your thoughtful review. We are delighted you and your guests chose to dine family style and that you enjoyed your entrees. Also, we are happy to hear the weather cooperated for you to dine outdoors on The Terrace – a favorite among our guests! We apologize if locating the restaurant was unclear. Shanghai Terrace and The Terrace are located on the 4th floor of The Peninsula Chicago and our staff will be happy to direct you should you return again soon.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Shanghai Terrace.

Warm Regards,

Kai Lermen
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Chicago”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

After many stays at the Peninsula we finally at here this last visit. We will definitely be going back. Service was top notch and the food flavors outstanding. We both had Cantonese style fish entrees and they were delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drvalgemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at Shanghai Terrace, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear drvalgemae,

Thank you for visiting Shanghai Terrace during your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We appreciate your gracious comments on the service and flavors of the Cantonese menu items. We are glad to hear you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,

Kai Lermen
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Truly excellent meal”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife, daughter and 3 of her college friends ate at Shanghai Terrace on Saturday night. We thought the food was uniformly excellent as was the service. Our waiter was extremely helpful in suggesting a variety of Dim Sum appetizers and main dishes (without over-ordering and offering items that were not on the menu). The beef tenderloin with XO sauce was amazing. The restaurant itself is beautiful and you really feel special dining there (without feeling intimidated). We look forward to returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoeguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at Shanghai Terrace, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear shoeguy57,

Thank you for dining at Shanghai Terrace and for sharing your review. We are delighted to hear the server was able to offer helpful suggestions and that you enjoyed the Dim Sum and Beef Tenderloin with XO sauce; the XO sauce is a house favorite!

We appreciate that you plan to return and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kai Lermen, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Terrace also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing