We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mah”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Reserve with OpenTable
Elephant & Castle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #213 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mah”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The reason we went here was because it was one of the few places still serving food at 10pm on a Wednesday night. The food was acceptable but nothing to write home about, and there were quite a few beers on tap, but everything was on the expensive side, even for downtown Chicago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ActiveMotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    274
    114
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch on a Sunday and were very impressed. It was a fun atmosphere and a great wait staff. We ordered the hummus to share and then we each had some kind of Asian chicken salad. I don't remember what it was called. First off, the hummus was seriously amazing. And I love hummus. It might've been the best I've ever had. The salads didn't quite live up to the hummus, but they were still tasty. And large and filling. The dressing was a little weird for me.

Overall, the two of us ate for about $35 with no drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good apps, good beers!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Apps were great, decent drink selection. Staff could have had more personality but that could be anywhere. We'd go back if it was convenient but wouldn't go back there just to go. Good, run of the mill English-style pub..............

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and fast service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch. Fish and chips were excellent!!! Service was incredibly prompt and helpful. I came in at about 11:50 and ordered immediately. The entree might have taken five minutes to arrive, certainly less than ten. Very nice experience. Comfortable, pub-like environment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Attached to Our Hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast, as we were staying at Club Quarters. The service was prompt and friendly (kept our coffee full). The food was pretty tasty and reasonably priced. I had the British breakfast that was a large portion of food. The price was reasonable for the area. It was a nice option for people staying at the hotel.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coharahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing