We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carson's Ribs Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Chicago
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #278 of 11,265 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: River North
Cross street: Ontario
Transit: Clark St bus, LaSalle St bus, Grand Avenue bus.
Description: Carson's serves America's #1 BBQ since 1977. A Family Owned and Operated Restaurant with delicious hearty portions of Famous Award winning BBQ Ribs, Char Grilled Steaks, Chops, Salmon... Fantastic sides like Au Gratin potatoes and Original Cole Slaw are included! Great salads and wonderful desserts. Carson's 465 E Illinois St location in Streeterville Chicago interior has beautiful water views of Ogden Slip and Chicago skyline, exposed brick, exposed wood beams, 2 full bars, wine menu, cozy booths or tables, and private dining areas. Upscale table cloth dining yet Value priced for generous meals. Perfectly Fabulous for special events and date nights. Convenient indoor parking right across the street call for details. Located between East of Michigan Ave and West of Navy Pier.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Knowing that Chicago has a history of beef on its plate, we asked our food tour guide for a recommendation for Chicago steak. Without hesitation, he recommended Carson's as the place the Chicago natives go. Recently moved to the Streeterville district, it makes a great destination place after visiting the Navy Pier. We arrived after a day-long sight-seeing adventure, yet they greeted our grubby appearances with professional courtesy. Our waiter was helpful in recommendations, and provided excellent service. The steaks were done to perfection. We have to go back soon to enjoy those ribs everyone is talking about. Given the portions and the preparation, the prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarsonsRestaurant, General Manager at Carson's Ribs Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Susan. We loved reading your 5 star recommendation. You are right. Chicago definitely has a history of beef It is great you recognize us as a destination restaurant for Chicago steaks. Here at Carson’s we pride ourselves in our Prime steaks since 1977. Thank you for dining with us and letting everyone know about our excellent service, portion sizes, prices, and location in Streeterville near Navy Pier. Thanks again for your business. We will definitely look forward to serving you some delicious Bbq Babyback ribs next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2019

Very nice atmosphere! If traveling without your best wardrobe it’s okay! Prime rib was huge! ($55.00) The biggest I’ve ever ‘tried’ to eat! It was very good. Au jus tasted a little different than what I like, but not a deal breaker. No bread served with the meal but you probably couldn’t eat it anyway! Slaw comes with the meal and it is very good. You chose another side like baked potato, fries, veggies, etc. Service was good. I would recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Constance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Was in town for business, and had a free evening. Made a reservation, but it was a weekday evening, so the restaurant was fairly quiet. Sat at the bar, service was very good. Had the full rack of ribs and the greek potatoes, great flavor.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C-lazy-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant moved awhile ago after many years, but the food and pricing remained superb and reasonable!! The atmospere is very nice, and the service is great! Just classic delicious meats, potato choices, and salad, dressings, or cole slaw, and the best--Key Lime Pie! It is my favorite restaurant in Chicago!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mary Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Visited the Carson's Ribs Chicago location,on Labor Day Sept 3,2019, with my husband,for date night. I haven't eaten here since the 1970's early 80's. They are in a new modern location. White linen tablecloths and white decor. Of course, I ordered the ribs,famous coleslaw and baked potato,with butter and sour cream, then topped it off with a glass of wine, Mascato. Everything was delicious My waitress named DeAnna was the best. I give the restaurant and Service 5 stars. I definitely will be returning. Deborah Williams

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarsonsRibs, Manager at Carson's Ribs Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Hello Mrs Williams. We are super excited with your outstanding review of our restaurant. We are so happy you enjoyed dining with your husband for date night. It is fabulous to know you are still a fan after all these years. As you know, Carson’s Prime Steaks and Famous Barbecue is a family owned and operated restaurant so compliments about our newest location, BBQ ribs, coleslaw, mean a lot to us. I will forward your compliments about your server DeAnna to Mr Carson and the management team so they can inform her of a job well done. Thank you for taking your time to write an awesome 5 star review and we sincerely look forward to serving you again soon in the future. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carson's Ribs Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Carson's Ribs Prime Steaks & Famous Barbecue of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing