We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious old school charmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Petterino's

Petterino's
Reserve with OpenTable
Petterino's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Randolph
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delicious old school charmer”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate dinner here before seeing Motown the Musical across the street. This is a charming old school restaurant. Loved the menu and wine selection. The corn chowder is was very good, as was the crab cake. Service was great and unrushed. I would definitely return before or after the theatre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HudsongrlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    231
    75
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Pre-show Restaurant”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Tonight, before enjoying an evening of theatre, my wife and I dined at Petterino's. This "old school" Chicago landmark was the perfect "opening act" for our night. We were promptly seated in a nice booth and my wife ordered a glass of Chardonnay that was recommended by our waitress and I had a glass of Pinot Noir. Her suggestions were spot on. For our appetizers I kept it simple with a house salad with homemade Louis dressing while my wife had a bowl of their outstanding corn chowder. For the entrees, I had the Veal Marsala while she enjoyed the crab cakes. Both were very good, especially the veal which was very tender. We shared a side of glazed carrots. These were roasted to the point where they were still a little crunchy and full of flavor. We finished off the meal with a peppermint stick sundae slathered in a homemade chocolate syrup and cappuccino. From start to finish our meal was not only delicious, but also well paced. As a bonus, they have valet parking for $14.00 and you can leave your car there while you go to the show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Donuts?”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I **think** this is the place where we got donuts in the morning. If so, the donuts were delicious! They were big too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagp
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a business lunch”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great food, speedy service. Must make a reservation. I had the grilled chicken southwestern salad. Yummy queso fesca, guac and fresh corn.

Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great building great food”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Food very good pasta plentiful price 70 dollars for two shared starter and two main courses of pasta service very good great background music and brilliant pictures on the wall

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scouser79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petterino's also viewed

 

Been to Petterino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing