We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”
Review of Frontera Grill

Frontera Grill
Ranked #70 of 9,531 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line - Grand Avenue
Description: Frontera Grill serves authentic Mexican Food in a fun, casual & relaxed atmosphere.
Illinois
Level Contributor
212 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always wanted to try this place but we were disappointed. It very small and loud. So no romantic dinner here. The food was good but not outstanding as some would say. Corkage fee was to expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    414
    200
    75
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You will most likely experience a long wait here, but it is worth it. Definitely the best mole and guacamole I have ever had. And the margaritas and specialty mixed drinks are delicious. We waited in the bar for nearly two hours for our table and didn't mind a bit. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in fun colors and art and has a lively, vibrant atmosphere. For Top Chef fans, it's a must-visit location because of Rick Bayless. For fans of Mexican food, another must-visit because Rick Bayless knows what he is doing. Loved the experience and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StMartinGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
422 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
“A PIONEER NOW ARROGANT & PREEMPTORY”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my fourth time eating at Topolabampo, and unfortunately it has been a downhill run. My initial experience at this Rich Bayliss creation was incredible, with unique & scintillating flavors of Mexico teasing my taste buds. However, as other chefs copied this pioneer of gourmet Mexican cooking, it seems as if the kitchen stopped experimenting & began resting on its laurels. Now with "Top Chef" fame, Topo seems very taken with itself. Our server was supercilious, arrogant,& preemptory. Rather then listening, he announced. This took the fun away & dining should always be a good time. My mole was excellent, but very expensive & not worth the service "without a smile."

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had lunch reservations and we were promptly seated. We ordered the blood orange margaritas and they were tasty. Since it was lunch I just ordered the trio Ceviche and the tortilla soup. My friend got the cucumber pineapple salad and the trio ceviche. The soup was one of the best things I've ever had and I can't believe how affordable it was. We were treated to a complimentary guacamole. Everything was fabulous and I was stuffed. Our waiter was excellent and attentive. I would go back the next time I visit Chicago and plan for dinner next time. Worth the price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we went to Frontera Grill, I had high expectations due to the good reviews that I have been reading. I was very disappointed. I love Mexican food so I was happy with the menu but I didn't like anything that I ordered. Everything was extremely spicy and bland. I don't like very spicy food but even my husband that likes it was not impressed. We are not coming back! The service thought was really good!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A1ex1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontera Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frontera Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing