We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat there, you won't regret it”
Review of Frontera Grill

Frontera Grill
Ranked #65 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line - Grand Avenue
Description: Frontera Grill serves authentic Mexican Food in a fun, casual & relaxed atmosphere.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Eat there, you won't regret it”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

What an awesome place. The service and food were amazing. Friend and I shared the guacamole, ceviche trio and then the steet food trio. Just enough food, but not too much. And all of it delicious.

Also tried a champagne margarita. Was excellent.

Tres leches for dessert topped of an amazing meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    424
    203
    76
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Believe the hype.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is as good as everyone says it is. If you don't want to wait try stopping in for a bite for lunch. Who'd have thought that Mexican food can be so great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fultonriverandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food Ever!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Rarely does a place that is reputed to be the best at something, live upto that when you experience it personally. But then Topolobampo is exceptional in every which way. They said no tables were available for the month of January but we took a chance and arrived at the bar. Lady Luck was shining on us a group of 4 left as we arrived allowing us the opportunity to experience this Rick Bayless masterpiece. The food was fabulous - the duck breast and the meatball tacos were do die for as was the chocolate flan w/ crispy fried bacon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaustuvDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Topo is topso”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Frontera has gone down hill and is coasting on its rep. Always filled, so doesn't have to keep up quality. Topo, on the other hand, remains one of the best restaurants in Chicago. Really interesting menu, which changes seasonally. A top notch place that is actually worth the money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank engprof_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Noisy, mediocre food and dangerous for food allergies”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We took our family of 7 to Frontera Grill on a Saturday night. The restaurant was packed, no place to even stand at the bar for a drink while we waited for our table to open, even though we had a reservation. When we were seated, we informed thew waiter that one of our diners had a severe peanut allergy. We were told that "peanuts are everywhere and it would be very dangerous to eat anything". But he did say if we could pick a couple of items, he would check with the manager to see if they were safe. After another 10 minute wait, we were advised that the items selected would be OK but the entree would actually be cooked at the Topolobompo grill to be sure. What restaurant these days can't accommodate a peanut allergy? We were seated at a small table so that we couldn't even put appetizers on the table without rearranging glasses and tableware. When food came, it was the consensus that it was only mediocre and worse than that, cold! There is nothing worse than cold black beans and a medium-rare steak that was actually raw in the middle. The restaurant was so loud that we couldn't converse with others at the end of our small table. Al-in-all, a poor experience and a restaurant that we will never return to. This place is great if you are young, loud, want to be seen in a "cool" place and don't care about the quality of the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 41RobertB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frontera Grill also viewed

 

Been to Frontera Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing