We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and great gumbo!”
Review of Heaven on Seven - CLOSED

Heaven on Seven
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Cross street: Rush and Ohio
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great gumbo!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's true. You gotta try the gumbo!This was my first taste of gumbo and I wish that I had got the big bowl and not the little cup. It's a spicy stew with Andouille sausage (made from pigs bottoms!) and rice. Not what I expected at all. I think I expected it to be more soup like. Very tasty and left me wanting more but the second course was already on route.
My husband had delicious Louisiana crab cakes and I had fried green tomatoes and crab. Sadly the tomatoes were covered in a breadcrumb batter but once I got rid of that, they were delicious.
They have 12 different hot sauces for you to try. 'Smack my a ss and call me Sally' was too hot for us but still our favourite, just for the name!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexidove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    140
    41
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taste of New Orleans!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant on my cousins recommendation. He "heard" it was good and it was one block from my hotel at Rush/Ohio on NE side.

I had a bowl of Gumbo and a side salad with honey jalapeño dressing. Outstanding food .... The gumbo was just like what I had in New Orleans - spicy, Andouille sausage, good texture and flavor with just a little white rice.

Atmosphere is great too! Blues music and busy, even on a Tuesday at 6:00 pm....not loud though.

If you are in Chicago and need a New Orleans food fix, this is the place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makersmark64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
359 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I Died and ended up on Heaven on Seven!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best Cajun food I have ever eaten. Hub and I both got the buffet which they serve to you family style at your table. The Gumbo is to die for; the Hoppin' John, Collard Greens, Jambalaya, Beans & Rice are mouthwatering and they'll just keep bringing you more. The fried catfish and chicken were good but not WONDERFUL, however....the sauces they gave you to dip them in made up for the blandness of the two main meats.

We split the deep dish Pecan Pie and it was the best we ever had.

We'll go back to Chicago just to go to this place alone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville D'Avray, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Cajun North”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I've been dying for crawfish & wandered by this little gem. You'd be disappointed if you were looking for real cajun spice and the mudpuppies were obviously not fresh put of the swamp. But, they did the trick & were reasonable. Meal included the nicest gumbo. Order a jalapeño cheddar corn muffin and an Abita. Close your eyes & pretend. Service could have been better - they were "swamped" but that just attests to how great a place this is!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The last time I visited here, I was less than impressed. My entree was pretty bland, which shouldn't ever be the case with Cajun food. The gumbo, however, is a must try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoChicaGo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing