We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food kids loved it”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #667 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Stow, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok food kids loved it”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The kids absolutely loved this place.....the atmosphere is really neat. Also my daughter has food allergies and they were extremely easy about it. They actually have a manager come out and take your order when you have allergies. The food is just ok something like an Applebees. I definitely wouldn't recommend it for the food quality. But if you are looking for a kid friendly place that is reasonable then it works for that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    165
    122
    41
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine Food, loud atmosphere”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Despite the protests from my husband and me, our children begged to eat at the Rainforest Café upon our arrival in Chicago. The food was average. The rainforest "thunder", cascading waterfall and thumping animated gorilla were all a little too loud. We did not appreciate the sales pitch from our waiter for the membership to their group of restaurants. We have been to a few different Rainforest Cafes. Others have better atmospheres. Every child should go once, but after that, choose one of the better choices in Chicago. The prices were high for the quality of food. You are paying for the atmosphere and safari "experience."

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anicole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have been to Rainforest Café many times but never in Chicago. It lived up to my expectations. We had a lot of fun & the food was delicious! Our waiter was great as well. The atmosphere is awesome. The menu had some different choices since last time I was there & we all enjoyed our meals. The shop was great & we found some real bargains! Very nice employees there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Took our girls to dinner and they LOVED the restaurant. Just a neat place. We all enjoyed our food as well. Highly recommend for families!

Helpful?
Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Escape the city”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

In this winter time with only cold weather and loads of snow there is a place to escape the city in the middle of the city! Go here and feel like you are in the rainforest. The monkeys and elephants move and make noises! Of course many kids but they are enjoying themselves. Food was fine, salmon was great. A not to big portion with fresh vegetables.

Helpful?
Thank Jlove1982
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing