We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Atmosphere”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #626 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had to bring my husband here after visiting several times during my childhood. This was the first time I ate at the downtown cafe, and I loved sitting up on the second level. The food was decent, but probably overpriced, but I suppose the extra price goes to pay for the atmosphere and the experience which was great as always. Go early so you beat the rush!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    162
    121
    41
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I couldn't tell you how many times we have eaten at Rainforest Cafes over the years. I just have never been impressed. But my kids love them and keep dragging me back. This time was different. The food was great, service was good and the atmosphere was as good as it always is. Keep this up Rainforest Cafe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winamac, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kids love it.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Loud and expensive, but the kids love it. The decor is outstanding and the food is good. Convenient River North location.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Likes_t0_travel_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you have been to a Rainforest Cafe before, this is just like the other ones. A different experience with the animals moving combined with delicious food. Our staff was very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
469 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Loud, cold, mediocre food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We dropped in because we were too late for the restaurant of our choice and did not want to search any further. The food was average. We were surrounded by birthday party tables. We changed our table because it was freezingly cold. A/C was blowing down on our heads and faces.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cibiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing