We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to eat”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #587 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fun place to eat”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not only is the food good, the atmosphere literally transports you to a different place, a place where you can almost feel youthful once again. Yea, this is coming from a middle aged guy, but if you enjoy good food in a good enviroment, no matter your age...try Rainforest.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bubs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    174
    125
    42
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food; fun atmosphere”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hard to describe - its a tropical rainforest motif, complete with animated animals and a simulated thunderstorm. There are gigantic tanks with multi-colored tropical fish.

Although it is kid friendly, don't confuse it with a Chuckee Cheese! No games, no kids running around out of control, no second rate food. Yes, it seems to be popular as a family destination, and a good place for children's birthdays, but the menu appeals to adults as well as children.

No kids -- go anyhow! The tropical atmosphere makes a nice respit from the cold Chicago winter.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winamac, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cool, but pricy”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took my brother here for lunch on a Friday when he didn't have school. One would think that being as there were only 5 tables going the service would be faster, but it took us nearly 2 hours to get our orders and eat. The waitress was very nice, however, as was the atmosphere. But the prices were crazy and the portions small. I know we paid mostly for ambiance, but really?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“kids like it, but food is just ok”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took our daughter there again because she likes it. The food was ok as usual. Overpriced mac and cheese but again the kids love this place so we keep coming back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank iowamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“C'mon!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

With all the good restaurants in chicago, there is no reason to end up here. I apologize to the staff, who work hard and bring the smiles, but you can get much better food at a place that you won't find in dozens of suburban malls across the country.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing