We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant downtown Chicago”
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 3/4
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #42 of 10,308 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Shaw's has been a personal favorite for 20+ years. Unfortunately we live in west Michigan and get to dine at Shaw's very infrequently. We love the Oyster Bar for its lively atmosphere and busy pace. Service and food are always top notch..raw bar selections are amazing. We were in town for two nights and dined both nights in the Oyster Bar.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank CleeLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,008 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

What a cool place. Was in town for a business trip and thought I would try trip advisor for a good place for lunch with a couple of business buddies.
It was perfect. Real 50's Chicago feel. Really good bar man called Josh. Made me feel really welcome. I had one of the lunch platters. It was perfect for lunch. Looking forward to coming back.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank LeeTedstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Nothing worse than a table of 6 adults with two very large booths of children who are being ignored! UGH I was very unhappy with the noise level so be forewarned. Make a note on your reservation that you want dining room seats, away from kiddos. We're older, and are done with kids, so wanted a quiet dinner, but I digress! Our server was so pleasant and he and the other servers gave us just enough attention throughout the meal on a VERY busy on a Saturday night. We started with clam chowder, which was delicious, creamy and loaded with clams and potatoes, moved onto the wedge salad...not going to lie...I wasn't a fan. The dressing was too sweet and tangy for me, so won't order that again. However, the ingredients were very fresh so might order a different dressing on the side. We then ordered their famous king crab and I'm not lying when I tell you it was the BEST I've ever had, and I've had a lot. It was so fresh tasting, sweet, cooked perfectly and really delicious. I got almost three large legs for $65, which I know is a bit pricey, but trust me it was very good! We finished with their homemade ice cream and cobbler of the month (peach/blueberry combo). Never would have thought to put those two fruits together but it was dynamite! Double espresso - VERY hot and a decaf cappuccino, as I can't handle caffeine like my hubby can. We also shared martinis and wine with dinner, which were all well priced and very good. It was one of the best meals we had in Chicago and we'll definitely be back. Had been to Joe's Crab the night before and wasn't nearly as impressed with them as I was with Shaw's (and it was twice as much). Oh, and on the other side of the restaurant there is a much more casual oyster bar with live music. I think we may hit that up next time as everyone in there was having a blast! Dancing on their bar stools, laughing, etc. Looked like a lot of fun. Don't miss this spot when you visit as it's really worth every penny!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

5 stars all the way! One of my favorites to eat while on Chicago. Headed back in 2 weeks and this will be on my list of places to have dinner.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank marleenicki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

This is obviously one of the best places for Seafood in Chicago. however be prepared to pay steep prices for it. I really wanted Lobster so I ordered the Whole Maine Lobster because i couldn't justify paying what they were charging for 2 tails. It was delicious, but again, not worth it for the what was charged. I wish now that I would've gotten a fresh fish. My husband ordered out the box and got the Crispy Red Snapper which came out whole. The staff taught him how to cut it and it was a very interesting dish. All in all, the fish itself was delicious, but again prepare to spend a good deal of money.

The service was excellent and our waiter was great. They also payed attention to the notes I left in Open table that it was our anniversary. They brought us glasses of proscecco and a dessert sampler all comped. So that was really wonderful. They say to only order 1 side dish for 2 people, but I suggest ordering 2 so you can get a starch and a vegetable. Definitely a special place for special occasions.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.