We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish all the time”
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 3/4
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #42 of 10,308 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

My wife and I having been coming to Shaw's for years. Every time we are in town it is a MUST! We usually have appys,lunch and drinks at the bar.All of the staff is excellent and attentive.
The fish/seafood speaks for itself-outstanding! Be it the many types of crab,lake perch,walleye,sushi-you name it they got you covered.
we have never had a bad meal,I guess that's a good reason to keep going back.
My complete endorsement! Love the place!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALBATTHECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,108 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2016

Visited in Chicago in February with the family and went to Shaw's Crab House for a Valentine's Day meal with my wife. Luckily it was no massacre..

Excellent food and service. Bloody Mary's were fantastic start to the menu. Never had one before which included a giant shrimp - really unusual and delicious!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank PeterN790
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Three of us ate Sunday brunch buffet at Shaw's. It is the second time I have been there, and the second time they have delivered an outstanding buffet brunch. The beef tenderloin was outstanding, as was the lobster bisque with plenty of lobster pieces. I loved the ceviche, and being from Florida we are very particular about ceviche. The eggs benedict were perfectly cooked, and moved quickly enough to not grow hard in the chafing pan. I also enjoyed the salmon and desserts. But I can't say it was perfect because the fried shrimp and the crab cakes were slightly overcooked. I would not have sent them back in a regular restaurant, but no second helping for me. Some things to note: the really good stuff is usually in the bar, and/or in a corner so look around before you fill yourself on bread and eggs. Also, the drinks are extra, and they are not cheap. In fact, the meal itself was not cheap, with our bill being over $200 for three of us. But I think it was worth it, as I can get my money's worth out of such a good buffet. I will likely be back the next time I am in Chicago.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Old-style dark wooden walls, great bar. This place exudes style, class and a documented history visited by many, many people over many, many decades. We ordered a large appetizer for dinner. The hot medley of small crab cakes, calamari, lobster, king crab, and oysters. Served on a large plate. Substantial for both of us for dinner. Fresh food coupled with a glass of wine and a beer. $76.00 with tip. ( Almost as good as a similar dish served at Signature Restaurant in Honolulu.) Service was great, restrooms were clean. Keep this on your Chicago list. We'll be there on every visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Shaw’s Crab House is our (my spouse and I) place to go whenever we want great food and don’t want to make a decision. The service and food are always great. We have become regulars which is rare because we typically don’t go back to many places unless their product is outstanding. When you arrive you are greeted as if you were a family member. If a table is not available immediately, the hostess makes sure that you are seated promptly. Although I have been to the formal restaurant, the bar is my area. I particularly like the quartets that play live blues Monday to Thursday. This restaurant screams Chicago.

The staff gets to know you if you frequent the restaurant. Even servers other than the one assigned to you come by to say hello. The food is awesome. Although many people don’t go to Shaw’s for sushi, I do. It is simply amazing and consistent. I have tried other meals there but it is the sushi that attracts me to this place; not to mention the wine that pairs so well with the food they serve. Last, although I consider Shaw’s a fine dining restaurant, it is not expensive nor stuffy.

I hope this place never changes. It’s been two weeks since I was there and I miss it already.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.