We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read about this place on the Net”
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 3/4
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #42 of 10,308 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Old-style dark wooden walls, great bar. This place exudes style, class and a documented history visited by many, many people over many, many decades. We ordered a large appetizer for dinner. The hot medley of small crab cakes, calamari, lobster, king crab, and oysters. Served on a large plate. Substantial for both of us for dinner. Fresh food coupled with a glass of wine and a beer. $76.00 with tip. ( Almost as good as a similar dish served at Signature Restaurant in Honolulu.) Service was great, restrooms were clean. Keep this on your Chicago list. We'll be there on every visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,111 of 3,342 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2016

Shaw’s Crab House is our (my spouse and I) place to go whenever we want great food and don’t want to make a decision. The service and food are always great. We have become regulars which is rare because we typically don’t go back to many places unless their product is outstanding. When you arrive you are greeted as if you were a family member. If a table is not available immediately, the hostess makes sure that you are seated promptly. Although I have been to the formal restaurant, the bar is my area. I particularly like the quartets that play live blues Monday to Thursday. This restaurant screams Chicago.

The staff gets to know you if you frequent the restaurant. Even servers other than the one assigned to you come by to say hello. The food is awesome. Although many people don’t go to Shaw’s for sushi, I do. It is simply amazing and consistent. I have tried other meals there but it is the sushi that attracts me to this place; not to mention the wine that pairs so well with the food they serve. Last, although I consider Shaw’s a fine dining restaurant, it is not expensive nor stuffy.

I hope this place never changes. It’s been two weeks since I was there and I miss it already.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here before heading to the theater district. The atmosphere is very old school charming, right down to red leather booths. The food was delicious... My boyfriend had surf & surf which was outstanding and I had the lobster fettuccine. We also had oysters for appetizers, wine, after dinner drinks and cherry cobbler for dessert. It was a bit pricey at over $200, but they is to be expected. Overall a great experience!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank kimberlyhG6757UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

A little bit off of the main thoroughfare but plenty of old time charm. All though a little on the high price side overall moderately priced for the area

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Chrisr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

I spend all major brunch holidays here (Mother's Day, Father's Day, Birthdays, etc) and I continue to return time and time again. The service is impeccable. It is SUPER kid (for brunch), the coffee and cold seafood station are on point. Keep up the great work, Shaw's. Definitely the best brunch in the city. SO glad they added a Saturday option.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 245christar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.