We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaw's Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Newbury, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I came to Chicago simply to eat. We did our homework beforehand and decided on Shaws for our seafood night. It was an excellent choice! Our table was ready when we arrived. Our server was Jackie M and she was fabulous. The signature Bloody Mary was a treat! I've just recently started eating oysters and Jackie was very knowledgeable, guiding us to a medium sized very mild and sweet Pleasant bay. I selected the Florida grouper with brussel sprouts. The fish was cooked perfectly, flaky and mild. My husband chose the king salmon which he enjoyed as well. We decided on a mini dessert sampler which was good, but not great. Overall a wonderful dining experience and we will definitely go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeDe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,566
    710
    190
    47
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very good ”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Went for cocktails & appetizers at the bar on Wednesday night . Gin Bloody Mary was spicy as asked for , shrimp cocktail & buffalo rock shrimp & some sushi were all excellent . There was a trio playing blues which created a great atmosphere in the room .

Helpful?
Thank Alandunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong With Shaw's”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I have been eating at Shaw's since they opened in 1984. We ALWAYS have at least one meal at Shaw's when we visit Chicago. You can have a wonderful, elegant meal in the dining room, or you can have a casual meal in the oyster bar. The food in both spots is fantastic. My two favorite items in the oyster bar are the lobster roll and the crab cake with Caesar salad. Wait staff is always great and very attentive and friendly. Don't hesitate to dine here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraM1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Warm belly on a cold night”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We brought our daughter here recently for a new year eve's eve dinner & thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was crazy cold here but our spirits were warmed by the excellent service & overall good food... The host actually moved us to a table we eyed while getting seated because the reservation for that table just got cancelled due to the weather. Wonderful, thoughtful, customer service. Our server Patrick was also right on in making substitutions to accommodate my husband's special diet restrictions. We started with crisp fresh salads. My husband's tuna was cooked perfectly & he had it with wilted spinach & a baked potato. We had yummy scallops entree Patrick recommended (a special that night prepared with cauliflower puree & red wine reduction) & surf n surf (lobster tail - great! & king crab claws - golden not red, too small & not enough of those).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great seafood and steaks in a town typically known for steaks”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

During the 2013 holidays, we hosted a dinner for a dear friend from Pairs and other friends of his who live in the Midwest. Choosing a restaurant that everyone would like was a bit of a challenge, but since our guest of honor likes both seafood and steaks, Shaw's fit the bill. The evening could not have been more perfect. Even with the holiday crowd, we were seated promptly and our waiter, sensing that we had an international guest, was most accommodating. We started with oysters which were deemed to be the "best ever tasted." Salads were excellent as were entrees that ran the gamut from broiled shrimp to salmon to halibut and swordfish. The seafood was so tempting that no one ordered steak! Several in our party ordered deserts which topped off the evening in perfect style. Everyone thought that Shaw's was the perfect place to celebrate our friendship. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing