We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Tradition”
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaw's Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
san francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chicago Tradition”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Another great fun restaurant in the heart of downtown Chicago. Wonderful fish, seafood and OYSTERS. They have a happy hour where oysters are half price. You can get a very diverse selection of oysters from the East and West coasts. Wonderful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,545
    702
    190
    47
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations too High?”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I were starving when we go here and expected the dinner to be outstanding. What we got was ok but at the high prices we paid we expected so much more. We were disappointed overall. It wasn't awful, just didn't live up to the hype. I doubt we will come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jzen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresent city il
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the second time we have done the seafood breakfast buffet! Make sure to get the bacon!! Great staff our group was 50 people and they put us in the back room and take care of us.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Good Entrees”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We decided on Shaw's Crab House while attending a conference in Chicago due to its favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. We were able to get reservations for 3 by calling just an hour ahead on a Wednesday night in early January. Upon arrival we were seated immediately; we valet parked for $12.00. We began with the calamari, which was nothing special--it was actually a little greasy. The salads were nothing special either. I had a cup of the lobster bisque and it was very tasty, but cannot really recall finding any lobster in it. That said, the crab cakes were delicious, the garlic shrimp were huge and yummy (not peeled though), and the mahi with BBQ glaze was very tasty. The double fudge chocolate cake was shared by all of us and was perfection. The service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickygirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it every time”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Shaw's Crab House is made up of two venues; a formal dining room and an Oyster Bar. The dining room is beautiful, but I've only eaten in the Oyster Bar. The Oyster Bar serves a full menu plus Sushi, and basically I go for the Oysters. They always have special Oysters of the Day to choose from, and of course one can order a platter with several different varieties. They are always cold, fresh and delicious. The service in the Oyster Bar is outstanding with waitstaff who know their business and their Oysters. Shaw's is highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jney777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing