We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw's Crab House

Shaw's Crab House
Reserve with OpenTable
Shaw's Crab House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State St.
Description: Big and Bustling, Shaw's Crab House stands as a monument to fish and seafood. Besides the usual popular dishes, Shaw's management team is passionate about presenting treats such as Pacific salmon, fresh king crab, and smelt during their short seasons. Reservations made through Open Table will be for Shaw's Main Dining Room. If you would like to dine in the Oyster Bar, all seating is on a first come first serve basis.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
397 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I ate here on Friday night while in town for work. We were early for our reservation so started with a drink at the bar. Our food was great. We had oysters, I ordered the crab cake, my husband the grilled tuna and we split choc. cake. Everything was really good. Our server did a great job. She was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The atmosphere was great. It was croweded and the tables are close but not too close.

There is also an oyster bar to the right when you walk in-that looked like a fun, casual place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,462
    679
    183
    45
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't miss in Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ambiance is pure 20's Chicago. I wouldn't have batted an eye if Al Capone had sat down at the bar. Food is awesome although a bit pricey for someone from Canton, OH. I had the scallops. Best I've ever had. Service was great. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airdvr1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I ate here with my 12 year old daughter in early January. We had made reservations and were seated in the bar area. I would have been happier in the dining room. I did notice some families with small kids in our area - maybe it was a kid's section. I thought the overall service was good.

My daughter and I both had the lobster bisque soup ($8 each) which was wonderful. My daughter had a 1/2 order (1/2 pound) of Alaskan King Crab Legs butterflied so she could just scoop out the crab meat. I was happy they were able to do a 1/2 order because the full 1 pound order is $47. She was thrilled and loved it. I think they charged us $33 for her order. I ordered the Shaw's Seafood Platter consisting of 3 rather rubbery garlic shrimp, 3 ish scallops (1 full scallop and then a some scallop pieces - the presentation was lousy, but the scallops tasted good), and one crabcake which was good. My entree was $33.

My entree didn't meet my expectations. I didn't complain to the server, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

They have an oyster bar fresh lobster (right from a tank) and wonderful food. If you go there you have to try a desert a recomend the sampler platter is has all the best deserts. There oyseters are very unique you can get them in multiple styles i recommend the creamed spinch they put in the shell with the oyster and mix the two. If you have kids the place is very kid friendly and has kidde cocktails. And of course they have great crabs of all kinds cooked in many ways.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nubcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My parents took me to this restaurant for my birthday. Very big and busy - felt very Chicago like. Food and service were lovely - including a cake with happy birthday done in chocolate on the side of the plate. A memorable special night with my wonderfully special parents.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdawydiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaw's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing