We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!! Chicago 312”
Review of 312 Chicago

312 Chicago
Reserve with OpenTable
312 Chicago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #207 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Randolph
Transit: CTA: Clark/Lake Stop Blue/Green/Brown/Pink/Purple Line Stop (Exit to Thompson Center, then go 1/2 block west)
Description: Alive with robust flavor and convivial spirit, 312 Chicago stands out as one of the city's favorite restaurants. Our Loop location, inviting atmosphere and authentic Italian cuisine come together for memorable meals in the heart of the Windy City. Adjacent to Hotel Allegro, our bustling restaurant showcases innovative takes on Northern Italian classics as devised by our Italian-born Chef Luca Corazzina. From flavorful bar bites to full Italian feasts, satisfy your senses at our restaurant.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice!!! Chicago 312”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice fixe prix dinner. Scallops, pork chops (delicious )' and tiramisu !! I enjoyed the ambience and food! I will make a return trip.

Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at 312 Chicago, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the Prix Fixe dinner, Greg! We're always changing our special menus, so be sure to keep an eye out next time you're in the area. Thanks for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    144
    59
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There are better restaurants in the Loop.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This restaurant is close to the theaters however, after wine and bread it is all downhill. We had squash soup which tasted canned. The soup had amaretto cookies sprinkled on top which was just strange. The sauces on the ravioli and tortelloni also tasted canned. The service was very attentive and the hostess very kind but we won't go there for pre-theater again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at 312 Chicago, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your dinner. While I can assure you that all of our dishes are made fresh, I'm sorry that they fell short of your expectations. I'm glad that your server and the hostess took good care of you, and I hope that you might consider giving us another chance next time you are in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great after theater spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After seeing War Horse, we stopped right on the corner for a bite to eat and cocktails. The place was very busy and we had no reservation. The hostess suggested we sit at the bar where you can order a full course dinner, however, we had cocktails and several appetizers that were outstanding. The bartender could not have been more accommodating, friendly and offered great suggestions for apps. We never felt rushed, and were completely satisfied for a very good price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at 312 Chicago, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Carol, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed everything. I sometimes enjoy dining at the bar just for the opportunity to interact with the bartender and other guests. We hope to see you again next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maybe it was just a NYE thing...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided on 312 for NYE after a combination of reading reviews here and running out of other reservable options.

We were seated quickly and were happy with the lively atmosphere and attentive service. The same cannot be said for our meal...

The fried seafood appetizer was good however it was downhill from there - our butternut squash ravioli was simply SO sweet we couldn't finish it. They should have just asked if we would have liked some plain cheese ravioli alongside our overly buttered and sugared starch.

We were happy when our entrees arrived..until we dug in. Everyone knows chicken as a safe dish...not here, not tonight. My girlfriends chicken was so rubbery and overcooked she took four bites before reaching for my, much better by comparison, beef tenderloin. Lucky for her I can't have much salt and therefore could only eat a few of bites and she was in luck. All in all we ate about a quarter of the chicken and most of the tenderloin and didn't allow ourselves to be horrified by dessert.

I guess based on the score for 312 you might be inclined to try it, as were we, but I definitely wouldn't trust it for your big night or let it ruin your NYE like it did for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at 312 Chicago, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your dinner fell short of your expectations. I want to thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's Eve with us, and appreciate you taking the time to provide some feedback. I hope that the rest of your night was enjoyable and that you might consider dining with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year's Eve Experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Chef Luca Corazzina and his staff did it again with their New Year’s Eve menu. The four course menu presented that evening rivals anything that we have eaten in recent months within the city confines. Not only did each course offer a choice of dishes to suit all palates, but the option of wines paired with each was a phenomenal value at $85.00 per person.

To begin the evening, the Maine lobster tail with a sweet corn puree, braised leeks with oyster mushrooms and a Blood Orange butter was succulent with the lobster being the perfect option to start the New Year. Albeit, a little hesitant, I chose the roasted veal carpaccio with a tuna caper aioli, topped with a lovely watercress salad. This dish, accompanied by a German Riesling, was a complete surprise of flavors and if found on his menu in the future, I wouldn’t hesitate a moment to indulge in again.

The pasta course at 312 has always been found to be outstanding, but on this particular evening, it went above and beyond any of our expectations. The duck mousse filled ravioli with duck confit and sweet cherries sprinkled on top were delightful, accompanied by a San Luis Obispo Pinot Noir. Equally satisfying was the black squid linguine pasta, which had intermingled within its confines asparagus, jumbo lump crab meat, red peppers and lightly dressed with a garlic oil which did not have any hint of masking these delicate flavors. I feel it necessary to mention that these were not small plates of pasta, but lovingly created portions that were sure to keep us warm for our journey home that evening.

For the main course, or as the menu states, Secondi Piatti, beauty in meal presentation was evident in both of the dishes that we chose. The roasted sea bass filet with braised tri color lentils, black Tuscan kale, Cipollini Onions, dressed with a lemon thyme oil was not only “picture perfect”, but truly reflected the skills which Chef Luca Corazzina and his staff continually bring to the menu at this restaurant. Equally so was the grilled Australian Rack of Lamb accompanied by a parsnip puree, garlic spinach with a mint balsamic sauce – rightly accompanied by a Salento 09 Primitivo.

Completely reveling in our meal by this time, dessert was still forthcoming. The pine nut tart with pastry cream and burned carmel gelato was just too much to resist, as were the Bombolini, fried doughnuts stuffed with chocolate mousse, accompanied by a kiwi salad. What else, but a glass of house made Lemoncello to close this extravagant meal.

Not only the menu, which was excellently executed by the kitchen staff, but also the grace and consideration of our server, Marco, provided for a perfect evening and a great way to start the New Year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salwgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, Manager at 312 Chicago, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words, and thanks for helping us ring in the new year! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed everything, and I will be sure to share this with Marco and our chefs. I see that you're from Chicago, if you'd like to have a hand in deciding new items for our Spring Menu, we've got a special dinner coming up on the 26th. Give us a call and we'll fill you in on the details. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 312 Chicago also viewed

 

Been to 312 Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing