We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #61 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crestview Hills, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

And I'm not a pizza lover. I ordered a salad since I didn't think I would enjoy my meal. We ordered a small Chicago Malnati pizza for the 2 of us and the both of us wished we could have had more. Fresh, fresh, fresh, fresh. It does make a difference. I won't eat any other type of pizza -- just Lou's!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2maryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,570
    791
    287
    75
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Chicago Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everybody, when in Chicago, wants deep dish pizza. I've been to Pizzaria UNO's and all sorts of other deep dish pizza places. Now, I am a thin-crust pizza lover. But if I would have to direct somebody towards a deep dish pizza place I would tell them to skip over all the others and head to Lou Malnati's.

We had the buttercrust, deep dish pizza with sausage. It was very good! The service was great too, but do expect the food to take a bit longer to cook if you're ordering a deep dish pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pizza as it should be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I'd heard that Lou Malnati's was the place to come to for proper Chicago pizza, and I wasn't disappointed. Be warned that whilst 6" may not sound like myuch for one person, it really is enough! There isn't a massive selection of deep dishes, which means that those that are there are top notch, bursting with toppings (lots of meat is definitely a plus point!) and a really buttery crust. Really great value food and attentive service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tomato sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Deep dish can be so gloopy - but not at Lou Malnati's. What is amazing, is how pizza can be so rich and yet so light. The sauce is light but flavorful, not super heavy. The small garden salad was enough for three people - and the gorgonzola salad dressing was home made. The fried calamaris was just ok. Save room for the pizza - it is fantastic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dp_2000NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Whatever you do, get a size smaller than what you think you need. The pizza is so rich, so thick, so awesome. Unlike any pizza I have ever had.

Helpful?
Thank edwa9086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing