We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Chicago Pizza, but long wait”
Review of Pizzeria Due

Pizzeria Due
Ranked #146 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicago Pizza, but long wait”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The pizza at Due is great. For those of you who want to try Chicago pizza a try this is the place to go! The menu is decent for a pizza place; however the rest of the food is just okay. A pizza can take up to 45 minutes so it is recommend that you place your pizza order ASAP. Due gets packed on the weekends and can be very busy during the week too. However you will have to put in a pizza order to get your name on the list.
Waiting around to be seated is kinda strange. There is not really much room inside to sit or even stand and when you go outside there is only 2 benches. The sidewalk can get crowded.
If you are going on a weekend after 6 I would plan to walk around Michigan ave and go back in 30 minutes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbekas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    372
    165
    59
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classic Deep Dish Pizza”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were warned as we were seated that the pizza would take 45 minutes, but we were there in the early evening when it was not crowded and only had to wait about 15. It was a hot afternoon and we opted to sit in the air-conditioned interior, which is dark and below street level. Otherwise the outdoor seating looked comfortable and inviting. The booths inside are low and narrow, so I recommend asking if a table is available.

Our waiter was attentive and helpful, and the pizza was just as we expected it. Delicious and cheesy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thatdingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Chicago institution”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Awesome.

Very good food. We tried to get into its partner - Uno - first, but the line was too long. Apparently they are the exact same restaurant, and certainly the same ingredients.

Make sure you are very hungry when you get there - and order less than you think you should - its not the same as regular pizza.

However, the girls at the hostess table were a little slow and unfriendly. They were not keen to answer questions or give directions - even to people who are clearly tourists and have never been there before.

However, once you get in, VERY good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kekbaldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94022
Level Contributor
224 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Long wait. Great pizza. Order in advance!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Guys. Make sure that you drop by, order the pizza 45 minutes in advance, go shopping, then go back for dinner.

Pizza is great. Service is OK. Good place to be.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank my8286432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slightly shorter-wait alternative to Uno.”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Counterpart to Pizzeria Uno, which is a block south, Pizzeria Due is essentially a duplicate (not a copycat, they're run by the same folks). This is very useful on weekends, as Uno tends to get very long lines. So does Due, but not to quite the same extent.

Service was prompt and efficient. I did appreciate that the greeting staff took food and drink orders from those waiting in the standby line. This made the actual wait for food much shorter once seated.

And the pizza itself: very good! Being a California kid, I had never tried the deep-dish Chicago pizza, and I was not disappointed. Uno's crust is sweet and flaky, almost a pastry, but it complements the sauce and meats surprisingly well. Food and drink menus are identical to Uno, to the best of my knowledge.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Due also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing