We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food from the sea”

Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Dearborn St.
Transit: Red line CTA – Washington/Lake stop; Blue line CTA – Clark/Lake stop Brown line CTA - State/Lake stop Orange line CTA - State/Lake stop
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect food from the sea”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The selection and freshness of the fish at Catch 35 is outstanding. I had swordfish--blackened and it was perfect in every way. Also, I loved the display of the beautiful pieces of fish. Even better there was nice entertainment that didn't overwhelm but added a nice flavor. The service was excellent. The sides were a nice compliment to the fish but since the fish is so delicious, I hardly remember the sides.The keylime pie was tart and great! I think my only recommendation would be to serve the fish with sides that are as great as the fish!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    305
    86
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife ( and sometimes our daughters) go to Catch 35 about once a month. The small bar is good for a before dinner drink or stay there and enjoy some good bar food.
The restaurant offers a variety of meats and fish. I usually go for the fish which is always fresh and well prepared.
The wine offerings are good and reasonably priced.

If you have room for dessert try the Key Lime Pie.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“The room is better than the food”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I didn't want to wander far from my hotel so I ran two blocks in sub-zero weather to Catch 35. The ambience is terrific. The food not so much. I had that tuna poke and every single bite of tuna had gristle in it. No matter how good it tastes, it's no fun picking gristle out of your teeth. If you're going to serve fish, and particularly sushi, you need to know exactly how to prepare fish. My companion had the salmon, which was better but not much.
The server "over-shared" but didn't notice that I hadn't eaten much of my dinner. Unless someone can prove to me that it was an off night, I doubt I'll be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband took me here for my birthday. House wine was good, recommended by our server. We had the sea bass and sword fish. Both entrees were wonderful. Jazz was playing in the background, soft enough for a conversation. My treat was a slice of key lime pie with a candle on top. Thank you for the pie, it was perfect. We will for sure go back when we go to Chicago on business.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

During a cold winter weekend in Chicago we were celebrating my wife's birthday. Our kids had planned the weekend with a stay overnight and dinner at Catch 35. What a wonderful treat. We went early to eat as we were attending at 8pm theatre show. The atmosphere is wonderful, very spacious and well appointed. My wife had lobster and filet while I had the tuna sashimi, my first time having such a dish. Both were excellent. The waitstaff was very knowledgeable and pleasant. I mentioned we were celebrating my wife's birthday and when we were finished she brought out a little dessert with a candle. I'm sure we will return to Catch 35 next time we're in Chicago.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cameraguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing