We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice on all fronts”

Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Dearborn St.
Transit: Red line CTA – Washington/Lake stop; Blue line CTA – Clark/Lake stop Brown line CTA - State/Lake stop Orange line CTA - State/Lake stop
Bokeelia, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Very nice on all fronts”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

It would be very hard to go wrong at Catch 35. As you walk in, there is (was) a jazz band playing what you would expect to hear in Chicago.... fun, lively jazz.

The service is prompt and friendly, and the ambiance is well lit and what you would expect. Though this is a seafood place, I ordered a ribeye and was very happy with it. Others at our table did order various seafood dishes, and they all looked great.

For a business dinner, this place works very well. But, I think it will work equally well for a night out with friends. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    305
    86
    33
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid Food, Good Service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Enjoyed our visit here had some tasty appys and a nice piece of whitefish. A lot of variety on menu, other had swordfish special which they really enjoyed. Had a great server whom was engaging and prompt and responsive. They mixed a solid Martini and Cosmo.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetwistedchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The service (I think the waiters name was Paul) was great. The waiter was informative and helpful with recommendations. Our food was delicious. the music provided nice background without being over powering.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great seafood and a good value”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While this restaurant serves upscale entrees, they also offered a 3-course special price menu. My party tried both options, and our dinners were delicious. We had fresh oysters and a truly wonderful Caesar salad for starters. We tried the shrimp and lobster pasta and the excellent halibut. Everything was prepared perfectly.
The restaurant is busy, and a little on the noisy side. The kitchen is open, with a fresh seafood case on display in front. The lighting is pretty, but dim. There was music playing but we could barely hear it over the crowd. We were there on a Friday night, so maybe other evenings are quieter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notlostyet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!!!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have eaten at tons of restaurants in Chicago. We heard positive things about Catch 35 and because it was close to the hotel decided to give it a try. I preface my review by telling you we had a party of 20 and I don't care for seafood. However, that is no execuse for bad food and horrible service. The bartenders - bad. Even the entertainment was bad (some light jazz band with a dying cat for a singer).

Three of us ordered a $35 steak. They all came out burned and tasted like fuel. One was returned. The other two maybe two bites eaten (I was up all night with stomach issues). The scallops were raw and also returned. I ordered a B&B for dessert and got a Drambuie - returned. The place is clean and the decor is very cool but bad food + bad service = bad restaurant. It's not rocket science. Simply, for the cost this is the worst restaurant I have eaten at in Chicago.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catch 35 Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing