We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #282 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Hubbard
Transit: The restaurant can be reached from the Blue Line & Red Line. On the Red Line get off at Grand and proceed west to Dearborn St/head South on Dearborn & the restaurant will be two blocks up on your left. On the Blue Line get off at Clark & Lake and proceed east to Dearborn St/head North on Dearborn/the restaurant will be three blocks up on your left
NM
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a great dinner here last night. Had the crab cake appetizer and bone-in filet with brussell sprouts and bacon - cooked perfectly and was fantastic. Our server (William) was outstanding, always there at the right times without being overbearing, and he recommended the perfect wine to go with the steak. Will definitely come back the next time we are in Chicago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    148
    46
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still OK but Very Pricey”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Ruth's Chris. We were able to get an early time reservation (5:30PM) and it was already crowded. Wait staff was efficient and attentive. The food (petite steak and salmon) was good but very expensive. All other foods were extra adds. The Martinis were weak but we drank them anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Ddrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Steaks in the World”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We always seek out a Ruth's Chris Steak House where ever we travel since they never disappoint. In a city known for its great restaurants and steaks in particular this was one of the best steaks, sides and service that we have ever experienced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fine but not what it used to be”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Had thanksgiving dinner at this restaurant and overall the restaurant was disappointing.

The restaurant itself is fine however not up to the standard I would expect from a top notch steak house. In fact, we sat in the back in a booth which felt like a high end Denny's.

Was a bit disappointed when ordering when I asked to order a salad that wasn't part of the thanksgiving meal pairing and was told that I couldn't get that because it wasn't part of the package and substitutions aren't allowed. The fact is, I would have gladly paid for the other salad in addition to the meal package. Seemed very tacky.

Seems that Ruth's Chris has way over expanded and is paying the price for doing so in mediocre experiences.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staek for Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Instead of tradition the two of us did Ruth's Chris...what a great time; petit filet was so so tasty...and the shiraz went so well...a new tradition for us!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomas24usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing