We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way.”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #268 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Hubbard
Transit: The restaurant can be reached from the Blue Line & Red Line. On the Red Line get off at Grand and proceed west to Dearborn St/head South on Dearborn & the restaurant will be two blocks up on your left. On the Blue Line get off at Clark & Lake and proceed east to Dearborn St/head North on Dearborn/the restaurant will be three blocks up on your left
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The service from our waiter (Justin) was second to none. The steaks were incredible tasting. We were seated at the best table in the place.
We could not have been more satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank dwkkmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    149
    47
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best steak!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a great time we had! The service was carring and helpful. But the food has been our best surprise: wonderful carpaccio, jucy and tender filet and ENORMOUS desserts. We recommend it +++.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Under-whelmed”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We selected this restaurant for it's great reputation and reviews, but it just didn't match up to the experience we were expecting. We made reservations 3 weeks ahead and let them know we were celebrating a my son's 16th birthday.
Our disappointment started when, although the restaurant was relatively empty, we were seated directly in front of the noisy kitchen. There was some employee celebration in the kitchen as a store-bought bakery cake was taken back and then a tremendous ruckus ensued by all the staff...entirely unprofessional for a top-notch restaurant such as this is supposed to be.
Our waitress and her assistant were polite and helpful. The food was ok, but the chef felt the need to soak everything in butter or oil. My green beans were dripping in oil.
My husband and my meals included dessert which we were never offered (nor did we ask at that point as we were ready to get out of there)...instead, they brought out an unordered apple cobbler for my son...it was a nice touch...just wouldn't have been his pick.
So overall, for us, it was a total splurge that turned out to be just OK.
Would we ever go back? No. If I'm spending this kind of money, I'd take Shula's over this any day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect Way to end the day!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Icredible steak and vegetables. Gave our local Sayler's a run for its money (Portland, OR). Nice venue, good location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience once again”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed our time at other locations, but this was our first time in Chicago. We were welcomed and served with smiles. My 16 oz. ribeye tasted great as did everything else. I would definitely return, although there our so many great places to eat in this town!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing