We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastronomy-the art or activity of cooking & eating fine food!”
Review of Avec

Avec
Reserve with OpenTable
Avec is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Loop
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gastronomy-the art or activity of cooking & eating fine food!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My cousin and I went here since it was close to the City Winery for a concert and of course it had excellent reviews. We started off with the chorizo stuffed dates which are incredible, we then had the brussels sprouts salad, the blow fish tail & the butchers steak all of the dishes had incredible flavors. This place serves family style and has a nice wine list but a mom & pop liquor bar, so its limited on the liquor but serves a good martini. Very busy place and not a lot of space, but they do a good job on the service. Food comes out hot and delicious, I will come again and would like to try some other exotic dishes since all were so very good. I would recommend getting there early, since we noticed that a line had formed after 7 pm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooseynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    160
    35
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Incredible Meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

After dining at their sister restaurant Publican the night before, we enjoyed another incredible meal at AVEC the next night. Food is served family style, and brought out as it's ready, which promotes sharing. Blood sausage, rabbit, hake, dates, pork shoulder, each bite as good or better than the previous one. Definitely dine here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clevelandmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very fun and open. Tasty dishes with great wine pairings and interesting flavor combinations. Its bright and entertaining - not sure if they still don't take reservations, but I love that policy and I hope they still use it. It's always packed for a reason!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bull_City_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Unique menu food is excellent! This place is always busy! My husband is a chef and this is one of his favorite place to eat in Chicago. The chorizo stuffed dates are my number one choice, be sure to try them!!

Helpful?
Thank charlotte o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AVEC”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great dinner. Lively atmosphere. Small plates for sharing were fun to try. We really liked the chorizo With dates and the cheeses plates. Paella was great too.

Helpful?
Thank SPG1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avec also viewed

 

Been to Avec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing