We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for lunch or dinner”
Review of Coco Pazzo

Coco Pazzo
Reserve with OpenTable
Coco Pazzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #176 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Franklin
Transit: CTA Brown Line Train - Merchandise Mart stop
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for lunch or dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Coco Pazzo never disappoints. The anti pasto table is scrumptious, as is capers e salad and arugala. Seafood skewer was unique and delicious. Our server, Gregory (?) was attentive and sweet, trying to get a word in 4 long time friends who meet once a year for lunch at CP during NeoCon. See you next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    99
    34
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Coco Pazzo has excellent atmosphere, outstanding service, and outstanding food. An example of the waitstaff's diligence is that when we were first seated, the only available table was crowded and near the bar. After about 10 minutes into our drinks, a better table opened up, and the waiters offered to move us, and did so quickly and efficiently. The softshell crab was delicious. The pacing of the meal was perfect - nobody felt rushed. The ambiance is bustling, but in a warm and friendly way. It's not too loud, but active. I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tuscanian Italian Quality Food, Delicate Flavors, Elegant Settings”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Per recommendation of a colleague as I was in Business in Chicago, wanted to give a try to this renown Tuscan style Italian restaurant. I do not understand Italian names but the staff kindly helped me to decipher the menu and recommended a custom shrimp & scallop linguini dish ($21). This is a Tuscan style Italian restaurant. So don’t expect stereotypical American-style Italian dishes. Wonderful tasting breads and few pieces of cheese/olive filled canapé offered with excellent quality, clearly, 1st press extra virgin olive oil.

The sea-food linguine was fresh, nicely prepared. As I am not that sophisticated to recognize if the linguini is freshly home made or from a well-known brand-name package, I will take restaurant’s claim of linguini was freshly made in house.

The pasta dish I ordered as entrée had few small-sized shrimp and small diced I speculate pieces of scallops. If I were hungry, and did not have an earlier tuna fish appetizer in another restaurant an hour before for a business gathering, the pasta dish I ordered would not be filling. One would expect more than few small shrimp pieces and diced scallops wrapped around with about 5 oz. of linguini as a main entrée from such a high profile restaurant. But, the flavors, temperature, quality of the pasta, and the presentation were all wonderful.

The desert ($10), I cannot recall the Italian name, was a delicate and small (but rich) kind-of-chocolate volcano cake with pistachio ice cream, presented with a “fusion” style plate where the items sitting on two distant corners of the plate decorated with 4 small drops of chocolate mousse.

If one likes to explore Tuscan food, not expecting for classic Italian-Mama style food, with elegant settings, delicate flavors, this could be the restaurant. I will keep Coco Pazzo in my list and may visit again when I am in Chicago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueOceanSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“for a special evening or even ladies who lunch”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A sister restaurant to the also great Coco Pazzo Cafe on St Clair, this is more upscale and quieter. In a warehouse atmosphere, with a great bar, one is always welcomed warmly. With a large choice of first courses this northern Italian restaurant is just fabulous. One can find families and couples. Food is always exemplary, one can always ask for omission or inclusion of items. Great beet salad, wood mushrooms. Sometimes osso bucco is available and sometimes veal chop too.
Recommended wines are always good. This is a consistently good choice of restaurant: one is not going to find foods smothered in red sauces here. We have been going frequently for 17 years. This should say a lot

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillybundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“pazzo to spendo”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Noisy barnlike place with interesting menu but food not carefully prepared. Always unpleasantly crowded. Service only fair. Go to Vinci for a better meal in a more pleasant environment.

Helpful?
Thank engprof_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Pazzo also viewed

 

Been to Coco Pazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing