We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gino's East

Gino's East
Reserve with OpenTable
Gino's East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #150 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

While roaming the streets late Friday evening we decided to give a pizza a try. Place looked busy but it only took 10 min and we were seated. Great location, great atmosphere, place looks good inside. On top of it they really serve good pizza. We ordered deep and normal crust. Both were great and for 2 - we ordered small - more then enough food. Few drinks ( good drinks!!! ) good service (Anthony - kudos). Very relaxed atmosphere. We enjoyed it and left our signature on the booth with permanent marker to see if its still there ( its ok to write on walls, tables, chairs ) when we come back because we definitely will.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackDelores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    410
    192
    83
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pizza close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Enjoyed the pizza and the atmosphere!! close to my hotel (within walking distance) calamari was great as well!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you have never had Chicago deep dish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Jon Stewart got it right when contemplating eating his first ever Chicago Deep Dish pizza on his show last year. Deep Dish is nothing like a traditional pizza. True Chicago Deep Dish is a casserole that you eat with a knife and fork. The cheese is on the bottom. The sausage or spinach or pepperoni is in the middle. The "sauce" is mostly crushed tomatoes and is on the top.
The reviewer who spoke about corn meal also got it right. The crust must have corn meal in it to be truly a Chicago deep dish pizza. The crust and the special sided pizza pan are similar to a cheesecake crust and pan. (In structure, not taste. :-).

If you are a tourist, Gino's is highly accessible to Michigan Avenue and it makes sense to wait in line to go there. For many Chicago suburbanites, a visit to this Gino's East (or the location that preceded it) was one of their first group destinations to the big city alone on the train without parents.

HOWEVER, there are many other deep dish pizza places where you will get just as good a deep dish as Gino's. Uno's a few blocks away was the very first in Chicago to develop a deep dish pizza. Lou Malnati's is a local favorite. Malnati brothers worked at Uno's back in the day and further refined the recipe. You will find more tourists than locals at Gino's and more locals than tourists at any Lou Malnati location.

By the way, Jon Stewart, despite his initial trepidation, ending up liking this strange thing that had to be cut with a knife and fork instead of folded up and eaten by hand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ever Had a Chicago Deep Dish?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I haven't been to Gino's in years.. Since the new building, I had to ask the waitress how come you don't have to walk down anymore.. ;) Other than that, the food and service were wonderful. The deep dish spinach pizza was great. I took a nubie (from NYC area) to Gino's down by the Watertower, and it did not disappoint. The waitress and the pie, amazing. Better than I remembered. We went on a Thursday for lunch, so it was not busy. I would recommend if you have never tried an Deep dish Chicago pizza, try Gino's East. The corn bread flour crust along with spinach is amazing. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3yarddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jones, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Gino's has not let us down yet. When we visit Chicago we have to go to Gino's for pizza. I like cider draft and the waitress was able to suggest a new one that I have not tried. It was great also. Since this one is right down the road from the hotel I like to stay at we will be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenfoxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gino's East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing