We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic again”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $51
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Erie St
Description: Fogo de Chão(R) (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo(R) began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic again”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

As always the food was fantastic. The staff at this Fogo is awesome and doesn't try to rush you.

More food than you can imagine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Diel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    295
    117
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Celebration of meat...”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I ate too much...my stomach actually HURT when I left. It was soooooo good! oh wait, they have a salad bar????

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyrodtrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quality of meat disappointing”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been to Fogo before, both in Chicago and elsewhere, but this was visit was subpar.

Service was fast, really too fast: our server arrived almost instantly and speed-read his menu spiel in about 15 seconds. I felt like the goal the whole way through was not to serve us, but to get us to the end of the meal so the table could be turned over. We had a reservation and were seated in a room behind the food bar room. This room seems to be somewhat of an afterthought, and isn't very plush for a premium establishment.

The meats were very inconsistent in quality. The parmesan pork and top sirloin were very good. One of the other beef dishes, however, (I think they called it the house specialty) was awful. It looked good, but was tough and fibrous; no one at our table ate it. I inadvertently got a second portion of the same offering later in the evening and it was the same. This low quality would be bad at a discount steakhouse. At a place where prices are fairly elevated, this quality is inexcusable.

I probably won't go back. There are just too many good steakhouses around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caf34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Always amazing, tho a little slower this time...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fogo de Chao is an amazing place with a unique dining experience. The meat is beyond compare. This is the third time we have been to this one and the fourth time to any Fogo de Chao, and they seemed a bit off their game this time. The meat came out rather slowly and first, and the lamb didn't come at all until we asked for it. Fortunately, Marta (one of the servers) asked us what we would like, and moments later, lamb T-bones showed up at our table. She also made sure that one of our desserts was appropriately marked to celebrate that person's birthday. All in all, we would always go back even more often if we could. It's a fabulous experience. Do make reservations and read up about the price before you go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewPlaceFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Gluten Free service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The manager took great care of us for our gluten free needs. The food was tasty - but expensive. We have been to 2 other Fogo de Chao's. We felt like the drinks were watered down and the meat didn't make it over to our table as frequently as in the other Fogo de Chao's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redwingsbestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing