We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $51
Cuisines: Latin, Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Erie St
Description: Fogo de Chão(R) (fo-go dèe shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, Fogo(R) began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 20 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet market table, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I had a customer one time tell me about this place . So I tried it out and was I blown away with the service the staff was very kind. The food was amazing. Now it is a little pricy but worth it !

Helpful?
Thank Elieser B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    287
    116
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wilmette
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Healthy and Universally Acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose this restaurant for our local get together because it had valet parking and options for both vegetarians and carnivores. The meat lovers were happy, the vegetarians survived. There was a large selection of salads, but nothing overly delicious.

The service is great. For this much money I'd rather have gourmet cooking, but it is a place when you need a restaurant with broad appeal, relatively quietly, and can accommodate a large group. Therefore its great for conventioneers, graduation parties and other special events. Not the kind of place where gourmet eaters would go, but fantastic for those fans of all you can eat. There was an unlimited amount of high quality if boring food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbkanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice staff, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Good formula if you are hungry and eager for good meat. You must try though to check the flow of meat cuts ( and avoid overeating from the salad bar) so to have an unhurried and more enjoyable dinner. Service very attentive and corteous. Poor caipirinha ( strange for the place)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vigorish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at Fogo De Chao a couple times while visiting the Chicago area. It's always wonderful. Best Brazilian steakhouse I've been too. Great atmosphere and location. Service is amazing and you don't leave hungry. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loladoggie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An "event" of a dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have eaten at several of these types of restaurants before, and Fogo is the best. Our dinner group included a picky eater, a vegetarian, and two beef lovers. We all loved it. Salad bar is huge, and more importantly, fresh with top notch ingredients. It has alot more than salads, and easily could be the meal itself, with specialty cheeses and meats. Our vegetarian companion was impressed, and really enjoyed it. Now for the reason we came - the meat. WIde variety, and always coming. Get ready for the "meat sweats" when you get a little red in the face from over doing it. My one dinner companion had spent a year in Argentina, and said the meats here were just like South America, which is a compliment. The only 2 slight complaints I have is that I like my beef medium to medium well, and that was hard to get there that night. But did not stop me from over indulging, and trying stuff I would never order (like lamb) as a dish. The second complaint is that the service to clear plates, bring drinks, etc was slow (but not the meat - it kept appearing all night long), but it was not due to lack of effort - their staff is always hustling, and the restaurant was packed. Long night, entertaining as we all tried different things, and kept eating. All 4 of us would definately go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WNYpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing