We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, small tables”
Review of Wildfire

Wildfire
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildfire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: LaSalle and Wells
Description: Step back in time 60 years to when going out for dinner meant something really special. From the decor to the jazz music, Wildfire has the style and warmth that makes it perfect for celebrating with friends or a quiet evening for two. The extensive menu features broiled steaks and chops, wood-roasted seafood and roasted meats, all prepared in an open kitchen. Signature dishes include Horseradish Crusted Filet Mignon, Macadamia Nut Crusted Halibut, Wildfire Chopped Salad and Cedar Planked Salmon. So order a signature martini or one of our many wines by the glass, then sit back and enjoy the quintessential 1940s supper club experience of Wildfire.
Detroit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, small tables”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed our meal at Wildfire. However, we were seated a small table which left us feeling cramped... Request a booth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapper5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    270
    62
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Wildfire”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wildfire has a nice vibe, It's upsclae without being overly upper crust or full of itself. We felt comfortable bringing our 4 year old daughter. The steak isn't among the best I've had, but it was good. Slightly overcooked for how I ordered it (medium). They are famous for their steak toppings. I tried a sampler and was unimpressed with 2 of them, but the third was good.

The service was friendly but not overbearing. The prices were quite reasonable given it's in Chicago and the quality of the food. It was a great value. They do have a good wine list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience for a first time guest”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are so many great restaurants to choose from in Chicago, and my husband and I were only there for two nights. I am so glad we chose Wildfire! The atmosphere was very cool Chicago-ish with dark woods and a lively hum. Terrific service, attentive, knowledgeable. And the food was crazy good. I had a special of the night, a selection of small filet mignons each with its own flavorful crust. Delicious! My husband had ribs that he thoroughly enjoyed (and he's a rib fanatic). A huge sundae topped off the fabulous meal. Oh, and I can't forget the Blood Orange Martini -- so good I emailed the restaurant when I got home and asked for the recipe, which they gladly provided. An all-around wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terriandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
325 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have been to Wildfire about 4 times over this past year and I'm looking forward to visit 5. Wildfire is one of the very best meals I've had here in Chicago (where you can find many wonderful restaurants) and in my travels. They are consistent; no matter your entree it always arrives looking and tasting delicious. They offer a nice selection of side dishes including creamed spinach, au gratin potatoes, aspargus...all are so enticing it makes it difficult to choose.
The Wildfire chopped salad is a house specialty and is wonderfuly good. The desserts are so tempting (apple pie/cinnamon ice cream, key lime pie, ice cream sandwich, peanut butter chocolate pie, fruit crisp) it is impossible to refuse. You walk away very gratified and looking forward to your next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice atmosphere. Great steaks -- my large filet mignon was cooked just right (should have ordered the petite). Delicious salad, bread, wine.

Crowded late on a weekday evening. Lots of families.

Better prices than other top-rated steak restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Librarinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfire also viewed

 

Been to Wildfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing