We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The atmosphere was hilarious”
Review of Ed Debevic's - CLOSED

Ed Debevic's
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The atmosphere was hilarious”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was a fun little stop where I had met up with some friends while traveling in Chicago. The service was good, yet still sassy and thats what this place is all about. It made for a fun meal and laughs were definitely had. The food was alright. Not spectacular. It was just an average american burger joint in my opinion when it came to the cooking. It wasn't terrible, just tasted like an every day burger, but the staff made up for it! It is worth the stop if you are in town and is especially family friendly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    212
    103
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great food awesome staff!!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I went to this location about 2 weeks ago and I waited on by miss "Lola." SHE WAS AWESOME!! I had a great time with my family and she made the experience worth having! I recommend her to anyone visiting Ed Debevic's in the near future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ke'ara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A must on everyones bucket list”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you have never been to a 50's diner type restaurant this place is a must. The food is good, and there is plenty of it. Enjoy the "rough" treatment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Uhm...no.”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went to Ed's for my 19th birthday. I'm now 35. We were in town and craving dessert and this was on the way back to the hotel. I didn't see any of the "sass" that Ed's is known for. What I did experience was a horrible server whose name tag said "Happy Boy". We sat at the bar since we were only getting dessert. First, they didn't have a seasonal pie available. I ask for the all American pie instead and he walks away and I try to ask for it with ice cream, something he should have asked me if I wanted. He, again, walked away without taking my husband's order. He eventually came back and took his. We waited an abnormally long time given that we were waiting on pie and a milkshake. In that time this same server stacked approximately nine food baskets in his arms so the bottoms of the baskets were touching the top of someone else's food which also caused the buns to be smashed. I later witnessed him pick up a bun without gloves on and ask a question to a cook. My husband's milk shake was good, as was my pie and ice cream but it could have come out in a bowl or larger plate as it was a mess to eat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank megs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't forget to bring your sense of humour with you. ”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Simple good food and good fun.
The rudeness is all good natured, it isn't even really rude. Go with an open mind and you will have a laugh and get some food at the same time.

Helpful?
Thank Ross-F-McF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing