We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crab legs are beyond words” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rush
Transit: Red Line Grand stop
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“crab legs are beyond words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is one of the finest all around places to eat in Chicago. They are great at sea food, steaks are melt in your mouth good and the fried chicken is to die for. You cannot go wrong eating here and any type of food is available and very well prepared.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,079
    624
    174
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent service good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had an excellent meal - one of the best - you need to book .. this place is full full full !

I recommend the lobster tail

Stone Crab is a little overrated ..

Excellent food and service

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great SteakHouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Staff was excellent, great service is expected at this place and they won't let you down. Ribeye was prepared to perfection, and the keylime pie was as close to kelime in Savannah as you will find.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Popular Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lots going on at Joe's in Chicago. Made our reservation months ago, advised the hostess that we were early but that we would wait in the bar area. The bar waitress recommended the most expensive wine they served by the glass but took an attitude when we selected one more moderately priced. She brought wine and the bill but didn't come back to ask if we wanted another glass or to be paid. In spite of having a reservation we were seated about 15 minutes late. Not a big deal and I will say it was worth the wait. If you are a party of 2 or 4, ask for a booth in the back. You will be out of the mainstream and the noise level is not as bad. (By the way, the bar waitress did come back when she saw us get up to go to our table. At that point she just short of accused us of leaving without paying!) On the positive side, our waiter was fabulous! Too bad it was Andy's last week at Joe's before moving to the west coast. His dining recommendations were excellent and he was attentive without hovering. Portions are ample, sides large enough to share. Be sure to try the roasted corn! Joe's is not inexpensive but it's worth it as a special treat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LP1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“really good food. loud.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We didnt have reservations so we waited for a table in the front of the restuarant (10 minutes) on a tuesday night.

i ordered some of the stone crab claws because i had never had any. They were good but nothing better than any other crab claw ive tasted.

the crab bisque was really good as well as the mashed potatoes.

the service was excellent.

Would i go back? maybe

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank popedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing