We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant with great service and atmosphere”

Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 9,675 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rush
Transit: Red Line Grand stop
Description: Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab is the culmination of a partnership between Lettuce Entertain You and Joe's Stone Crab, the legendary seafood restaurant of Miami Beach. Joe's features an extensive selection of seafood, flown in fresh daily, to complement the world's finest Florida Stone Crab claws. Joe's features the signature 16 oz. Bone-In Filet Mignon and 22 oz. New York Strip Steak. Matched with Joe's famous side dishes, dinner only gets better when capped with a slice of key lime pie.Defined by a standard of hospitality born a century ago, Joe’s offers a dining experience that is timeless. Tuxedo-clad service provides a sense of tradition, while delivering the warmth and caring service that has defined Joe’s since 1913.
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had a very good lunch in this busy and lively restaurant. We did not have a reservation but were fitted in on bar stools by the window. Great service and atmosphere. Enjoyed a long lunch with background jazz music. Recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,242
    664
    180
    59
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must try their stone crabs!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Walked a few blocks from our Magnificent Mile hotel and were seated in a quiet, large booth in the back. Our server tried to sway us to the most expensive options on the menu, but otherwise was helpful and attentive. The ahi tuna appetizer was a bit odd, arriving diced. Had we known, we would have passed on this. The Stone Crabs were succulent and sweet. A true hit! My husband let me try his Chilean Sea Bass with Miso Glaze and Bok Choy - another winner! The Lyonnaise potatoes and grilled asparagus were cooked to order. Our shared slice of coconut cream pie was a perfect ending. Our friends chose the key lime pie on this first visit, and since it's Joe's signature desert, it was on the house. A great evening out - delicous seafood. Will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crmccalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls,
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sooo good!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was in Chicago for a vacation and visited Joe's for dinner on May 19, 2013.

The place was super packed. My husband and I had a reservation and had to wait an extra 10 minutes or so for our table. The tiny extra wait was worth it. The food here is amazing. It's pricey but well worth it. And the staff is wonderful. For appetizers, we shared the tuna tartare (amazing) and the chopped salad (delicious). For dinner we shares the dover sole (fantantic! - it was a special that day) and the steakfrites (filet mignon cooked to perfection that melts in your mouth). Our server was Darren and he was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and soooo friendly. He gave us a complimentary slice of key lime pie (which was mind-blowingly delicious!)

Next time I go to Chicago, this restaurant will be on my list of must-do's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois/STL
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I arrived in Chicago late on a Thursday, hungry and seeking a good meal. Shaw's quit serving at 10pm so I tried Joe's. Fortunately, they serve late on the bar side. I had dined there before and it was just as good at a table in the bar as it had been in the restaurant. Very good service and great food (salad and crab cakes). Good wine selection too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelSaluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing meal for Steak & Seafood lovers!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The 1st night we were at Joe's we ate at the bar. The steak was disappointing as it was cold. My dover sole was fantastic. We booked the restaurant for 2 nights later as the atmosphere (mid-week) was electric. We had a much better meal. David looked after us soooo well. Thank you. The crab claws to start are a must and the steak on the 2nd night was the best we ever had. A reservation is a must for the restaurant. The bar is 1st come 1st served but not a patch on the restaurant (same menu & prices!!) Quite pricey but worth the experience...go on treat yourself!! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyWestGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing