We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #522 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Superior and State Street.
Transit: EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have known the Roys name from our trips to Maui and were delighted to find one in Chicago. The service (Ask for one of Nicks tables) was superb and the food excellent-- salad, mahi-mahi and pineapple upside down cake. A great evening

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 181717Mitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    109
    32
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see in Chicago”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Roy's is one restaurant that is a must each time I visit Chicago. The food is amazing and the staff is always on top of things. I can pass up dessert at most restaurants but I usually make an enjoyable envying when at Roy's. No need to rush the moment in time. Very enjoyable evening when at Roy's'. The one in Hawaii did not leave me disappointed either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnieSue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bring back the old version of the butterfish!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Two out of three of us weren't satisfied with our meal. This was our go to place for excellent fish. But they've change the standard butterfish recipe and that's a no-no. Not knowing this I ordered it and was very disappointed. It came with a sushi rice roll and had fresh tomato, similar to pico de gallo on it. The fish was fresh and the ingredients were quality. It really seemed like they were trying to get away from the Hawaiian theme and going with global cuisine. I'd suggest opening a new restaurant if you want to change the menu that drastically. It's no longer my place of choice for an excellent meal, which really saddens me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We came here after experiencing good food and excellent service in Roys Las Vegas. Unfortunately our experience here was not very good. Service was extremely slow. To get our drink it took 20 minutes and thereafter more of the same slow pace and. The food was mediocre and part of our fish dish was undercooked we had to return it. Nothing like Roy's in LV. Pretty disapointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Aloha! We have sent you a message via private message. Thank you for sharing your insight and when you get a moment, kindly check your inbox! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico mountains
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hawaiian Martini ($13): Excellent
Lobster California Roll ($11): Excellent as appetizer for 2
Macadamia Encrusted Mahi Mahi ($29): Excellent (could serve two people with smaller appetites
Pineapple Upsidedown cake with coconut ice cream ($10): Excellent; order when entree is served as is made to order
Espresso decaf ($3.50): Excellent
Very pleasant and relaxing dining experience.
Make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecolinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing