We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night!”
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #480 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Corner of Superior and State Street.
Transit: EL train stop 1 block north at Chicago and State.
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great night!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is fabulous! It was much more than we expected. We had an appetizer of duck confit dumplings, entrees of sushi and a pork shank and a chocolate soufflé. Everything was delicious! We even got complementary spring rolls. And the drinks (mango mojito and Mai Tai) were fabulous! We had a really great night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilyTheCatLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    109
    32
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happy every time.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been to Roy's a number of times and have always been very happy. It really is great for all occasions. It is good for a romantic dinner and it is also good for our pre-teen children. They fly in their fish every day from hawaii. Try the butterfish. It is staggering. Appetizers are intersting and the desserts are excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow, what a menu. And everything tastes as good as it sounds. We shared 3 appetizers and 2 desserts. With a couple glasses of wine, it was one of the best dinners ever.
The lobster pot stickers were crispy on the outside, succulent and savory inside. Big chunks of lobster that tasted as if we were on the docks in Maine. Vegetables and spices made the filling just right.
Ribs were falling off the bone tender, with a spicy flavorful sauce.
Lobster dim sum was so good it is hard to ever find words to describe it. Pillowy dumplings with about a claws worth of lobster in each one, with a light frothy sauce that added depth and amazing flavor.
The flourless chocolate cake was to die for, and the key lime pie was beyond perfection.
A great selection of wines by the glass rounded out a perfect menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEWscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner every time”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Been going there for the past few years and thought it'd be nice to recommend it. I'm not a big chance taker when it comes to food and I was initially intimidated on my first few visits. My suggestion would be to work with your server and have them really break down the dish so you understand it's full components. Also, they will make you a special dish if you're really looking for a combination that is not on the menu. For example I enjoy combining appetizers such as the ribs and tuna. Also, sign up for their email list, you will receive nice discount opps ($25) for future visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenchicagocubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
You know, we love hearing from locals who enjoy coming back to Roy's. Thank you for sharing the love with other Tripadvisors. We value your patronage and hope to see you back soon. I actually used to work with the Managing Partner, Chris Auld 10 years ago in Florida. He's a great guy. Say hello for me on your next visit!

Mahalo,

Jeannie Lee @ Roy's Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“goooood butterfish”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

great selection of seafood. service very attentive. Husband's trout was way too small. All the other dishes were ample size & delicious

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ariell573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing